Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Confusion regarding P2 versions

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by mtbin2, Apr 3, 2014.

  1. mtbin2

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the newbie question but I am about to to pull the trigger on the P2 + h3-3d from B+H and wanted to make sure I am getting the right thing. In another post I read ".......built for the h3-3d...." in reference to a P2.

    So has there been a physical change in the P2 or is the change just a firmware change?
     
  2. tonben

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    It is the right thing.
    Reference is made to the newly released H3-3D gimbal.
    There was a recent firmware change which you can easily do via the P2's software assistant.
    However, No physical changes have been done to the P2.

    Tony...
     
  3. CJ31

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Yes the P2 has been physically changed. There is a change to the bottom from what I have read. No one actually has one in hand to verify, but the bottom of the shell is different for sure.

    If you are preordering the package, you are good to go.
     
  4. bernardb

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avon Indiana
    There is a larger rounder hole on the bottom just where the Zenmuse mounts...it allows for the 3rd axis motor to fit into the recess...
     
  5. Jaybee

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    In case anyone was wondering, there will be an adapter for existing P2 owners:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. shartlza

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    I am wondering with this adapter if it will put the GoPro lower, so if you rotated down while on the ground the GoPro lens would hit the gournd. Also have they came out with pricing just fot the gimbal and bracket yet? I have heard $469 to $499.
     
  7. tonben

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC

    oooops!!!

    I stand corrected on the P2 changes

    Thanks all…….
     
  8. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,922
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Dremel!
     
  9. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2

    Yeah I was thinking that :D
     
  10. mtbin2

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I confirmed with B+H that if you order the P2 / h3-3D bundle, that they indeed ship the new physically updated P2.
     
  11. goldfishrock

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    + a good soldering iron... the only two things a P2 owner needs :)
     
  12. gppms

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Greece.
    I believe with the dremel its very easy to do the modification.


    Στάλθηκε από το Nexus 10 μου χρησιμοποιώντας Tapatalk
     
  13. Jaybee

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    If you factor-in the need to disassemble the whole thing and remove the guts it's actually not that easy... that's a time-consuming job.

    Anyway, what's the point when they will be providing an adapter to retro fit it.
     
  14. gppms

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Greece.
    I did that many times.And i believe it is not necesery to remove all the guts of the phantom.

    Στάλθηκε από το Nexus 10 μου χρησιμοποιώντας Tapatalk
     
  15. Jaybee

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    Actually you wouldn't need to do all that, ignore me! Still,
    there will be an adapter though.
     
  16. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    There may possibly be some other changes. We don't know until someone cracks it open and compares it to a version 1 of the P2.

    There were a lot of changes between the first version of Phantom 1 and the Phantom 1.1.1 and DJI never really mentioned the changes. They just kept selling it like it was a version 1.
     
  17. gppms

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Greece.
    There are not any other changes just the base of the gimbal its diferent.


    Στάλθηκε από το Nexus 10 μου χρησιμοποιώντας Tapatalk
     
  18. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    do you have version 2?
     
  19. gppms

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Greece.
    No a friend of mine bought it and told me that.


    Στάλθηκε από το Nexus 10 μου χρησιμοποιώντας Tapatalk