Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Confused with Assistant Software

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by Rustysocket, Sep 5, 2014.

  1. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just Received my new FC40 and am updating the firmware.

    I am having some confusion regarding updating the copter firmware vs updating the transmitter.

    I have downloaded Naza Assistant 2.20 and performed the firmware update on the copter. I have set up IOC and RTH failsafe. I can see the transmitter sticks moved from within that software.

    I have also downloaded RC Assistant 1.1 to calibrate my transmitter. I cannot find a port to connect it to the computer anywhere on the transmitter. When I'm in Naza on the upgrade page it states that the Reciever firmware is at 1.0.1.3 and that the transmitter needs to be at 1.0.2.22 but I cannot figure out how to verify the firmware on the transmitter.

    Can anyone clarify?

    Appreciate the help.
     
  2. Mandrake

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne , Australia
    You have to open the radio to get to the USB socket .
     
  3. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the update necessary for the radio? I only updated the quad.
     
  4. Mandrake

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne , Australia
    Don't know for sure .. Did mine when I first got my Phantom..
     
  5. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seriously?

    I mean that's not a big deal if that's what I need to do. I just modded a new Taranis transmitter to relocate an OrangeRX DSMX module antenna that was in a crappy spot, but you'd think DJI would have put a port on the outside of the radio if they intended for the majority of users to upgrade it at any point.

    Maybe I'm wrong but I kind of put this Phantom somewhere between a toy and a hobby grade quad. I just don't see many of the target market taking the screws off the back of the transmitter.... maybe I'm wrong.

    Big question.... Do I really need to upgrade it at this point?
     
  6. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    I didn't update any software. In fact, my FC40, at least, is up to date. Set your limits, turn on IOC, etc and fly it.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    More settings.

    Setting the limits is VERY important. They are set to 2000 yards, which effectively means no limits at all.

    Don't worry about changing the voltage settings.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haven't had any issues getting the Naza software to run. Missed the part on the limits, so will go in and set that to 250m as you shown. Mine are currently at 2000m. So will change that.

    Appreciate the screenshots. A picture is worth a thousand words...

    What is the RC assistant software for? It appears that Naza does the same thing?
     
  9. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    I think we may be talking about the same program, just calling it different names.

    For the life of me, I don't know why they would sell quads with 2000 yard limits. That is over a mile, well beyond the capabilities of the thing. How many have been lost because of this?
     
  10. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I went to the DJI downloads page for the FC40 there were two different pieces of software. One was the Naza assistant, the other was called RC assistant. Then there was a driver as well.
     
  11. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    The program I use is called NAZA-M V2. That's what the screen says.
     
  12. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the other program RC Assistant for?
     
  13. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    It is for configuring the transmitter. No need for it normally. You can switch it to Mode 1 (throttle on right, I believe) if you like.

    If you use this, you have to open the transmitter to get to the USB connector.
     
  14. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help. I think I understand where my confusion started and happy to say I have it flying now and am incredibly impressed.

    I'm looking forward to getting a camera on and FPV. I have a Hero 3 Silver GoPro with WiFi. I may research into trying it out. I see parts in your signature. Is that what you did?
     
  15. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes. Here are the links

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/BOSCAM-RC80...pt=Radio_Control_Vehicles&hash=item27e7d4301d

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007SLDF7O/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    I bought this cable. It did not fit, so I removed the pins for the yellow and black wires and replaced those in the connector that came with the transmitter, while removing the extra wires.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007SLDF7O/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    My limited test this morning did not give the range I wanted, but one can always buy better antennas. Also, I think Boscam sells transmitters of 1000 Mw, this one is 500 Mw.
     
  16. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very cool. Essentially have the same things on the way. Should be fun.