Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Confused over camera settings (P3A)

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Bigfootbuilt, May 13, 2016.

  1. Bigfootbuilt

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Duncan, SC
    I am trying to figure out how to change the VIDEO ISO and shutter speed settings on my P3A. When in video mode, I can change framerates and resolution, but can't figure out how to change ISO and Shutter speed. I can see those settings for still pictures, but not video. Does adjusting the still photo ISO and shutter also apply to video?
     
  2. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    I think, not sure, pressing on the wheel may change the function.
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,594
    Location:
    US
    Click the button at the bottom, right corner of the DJI GO app and select "M" to switch to manual mode. You'll be able to set the ISO and shutter speed then.

    DJI-Manual-Camera-Settings.png
     
  4. DennyBoBenny

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    31
    The quickest way is to spin the wheel on the top right of the controller. Push in and release to toggle between ISO and shutter speed.
     
  5. Bigfootbuilt

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Duncan, SC
    Right I think I understand that, but is that changing the settings for photo or video? or both?
     
  6. DennyBoBenny

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    31
    I think it's the same for both. Whatever mode you're in, the display shows the settings. Make a change in one mode, then switch to the other mode and see if it changes.
     
  7. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,143
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    ISO and Shutter settings can be adjusted only in manual mode. But there is one more value to be checked and that's exposure. Exposure should be around zero to avoid under exposure or over exposure. You may need Filters to achieve the best setting.
     
    DennyBoBenny likes this.
  8. Bigfootbuilt

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Duncan, SC
    Understood. But what I'm trying to find out is when I change these settings in photo mode, is it also changing them in video mode? In other words, if I am in photo mode and I choose 100 ISO, does this mean it will be 100 ISO in video too? The reason why I ask is because I do not see these settings in video mode. On my P3A, I have a switch in the settings. One for photos and one for video. I only see an ISO, shutter, and exposure settings in photo mode. I do not see this in video settings. If I change the settings in photo, does it also apply to video? Am I making sense?