Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Confirmation on S1 functinality in PHANTOM mode w/ ver 3.04?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by pjw73nh, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. pjw73nh

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Hampshire USA
    Taking baby steps with my new Phantom.

    There has been a lot of discussion and videos of beginners using Phantom mode or Naza mode...

    Along with those discussions and vids I have found a lot of conflicting information on the functionality of S1. I updated both my controller and phantom about 2 weeks ago (when my phantom arrived) to the latest firmware. 3.04

    I know S1 is used for compass calibration in both Phantom and Naza modes, but during flight, I would like to know DEFINIVELY what S1 does.

    In Phantom mode (as shipped): My understanding from the manual is: Up is RTF-GPS, and the other two positions do nothing unless in failsafe mode, and then either can be used to regain control of the phantom.

    In Naza mode (as shipped) My understanding from some of the posts here and some videos is: Up is GPS mode. and either of the other two are defaulted to ATTI mode.

    I am thinking that some of my confusion may be due to the some of the vids being created with an earlier/different version of firmware, and the switches functioned differently back then. Maybe not.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Awilson18

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Confirmation on S1 functinality in PHANTOM mode w/ ver 3

    Up...GPS Mode Middle...ATTI Down...RTH or Manual
     
  3. PhilAnderson

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Living In The Woods Of Beautiful Bonney Lake, WA
    Re: Confirmation on S1 functinality in PHANTOM mode w/ ver 3

    PJ, I can confirm that S1 in either position, middle or lower, will allow you to take over control from RTH, when in Phantom mode. I have not yet, used NAZA mode.
     
  4. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    Re: Confirmation on S1 functinality in PHANTOM mode w/ ver 3

    Close. But not the default which is what he asked for. This is for NAZA mode default S1.

    Up - Ready-To-Fly GPS
    Middle - Ready-To-Fly ATTI
    Lower - Ready-To-Fly ATTI

    Optional: In the assistant there is a dropdown menu for S1 lower position. You can choose between ATTI, Failsafe, or Manual.
    It is called failsafe here because it is not necessarily return to home. If you have 5 satellites or less and initiate failsafe, the phantom will land right where it is. It also may drift with the wind on the way down. To further complicate things, you can set what failsafe means overall. It can either be "return to home and landing" or "landing". So if it is set to "landing", it will land straight down, regardless of sats, in failsafe. Failsafe is either S1 initiated failsafe, or loss of transmitter signal.
     
  5. pjw73nh

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Hampshire USA
    Re: Confirmation on S1 functinality in PHANTOM mode w/ ver 3

    Ok so to summarize, assuming stock from factory.

    In Phantom mode S1:
    Up - RTF GPS (assuming 6+Sats)
    Mid - Nothing except regain control from failsafe.
    Down - Nothing except regain control from failsafe.

    In Naza mode S1:
    Up - Ready-To-Fly GPS
    Middle - Ready-To-Fly ATTI
    Lower - Ready-To-Fly ATTI

    Are we all in agreement?

    Tnx
     
  6. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Re: Confirmation on S1 functinality in PHANTOM mode w/ ver 3

    Not quite. The switch settings can be changed in the assist software. So it really depends what you chose for each. If you followed this excellent guide
    http://www.pattayadays.com/2014/03/naza ... -2-vision/
    you will have set
    Naza S1
    Up - GPS mode
    Middle - Atti mode
    Lower - Return to Home

    Default Naza S1 Lower is Manual which is not recommended for obvious reasons.