Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Computer Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SanCap, Dec 14, 2013.

  1. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    South West Florida
    I am looking to by a small laptop just for Naza and Gimbal type programs. What version of windows are you using for this purpose? I am a using a mac with Parallels right now and do not want to do this anymore as I want something more portable.
     
  2. kenskid

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm a Mac person too but I have an old toshiba laptop running vista that works fine. Lol....you can probably find a computer with vista on it for under $75 on eBay I would imagine!
     
  3. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    South West Florida
    Thanks for the info but I have a hard time buying used electronics sight unseen. It seems all new computers have windows 8. something. I do have a legite copy of windows 7 pro that I could install on a new computer if Windows 8 does not work well with NAZA.
     
  4. Hiway

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    2
    Used to be a person could find "barebones" lappys and desktops- probably could still find a desktop pc... hell, people would pay you to take it away.

    Small, barebone laptops and netbooks are hard to come by- but yardsales and craig's list is a good place to start.

    Here is a refurbby netbook on tigerdirect for under 3 bills- it's more than what you need to run the naza software.
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... CatId=3988
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Jim, I bought an older-model refurb laptop from a friend of mine who runs a PC repair shop, for $150 (incl shipping), and that's what I use on my workbench now. Not very powerful, but plenty good enough to run the software needed for this hobby. You can probably find a shop locally like that who can get you a cost-effective machine with Win7 on it, or I can refer you to the guy I got mine from.
     
  6. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    South West Florida
    Thanks for the info.