Complete newbie with lots of questions.

Reaction score
I started a year and a half ago with a ar drone 2.0. I modded the thing, got a dx8 controller for it and tried to get good at flying it. I was very unsatisfied. The drone would drift everywhere and go crazy for no reason at times. And unless there was no wind at all, forget about even flying the thing. So I sold it, and took a break from flying and just played with my cars again. I met an older gentleman and his friend who flew phantom visions and they let me fly again. Wow was I impressed with the vision. It was on an entire different level compared to my drone. I've been on the forums browsing for 2-3 months trying to get better with my vision. Fortunately, I have never crashed mine. I've done lots of reading and searches and still so puzzled with this thing. My only complaint is the drifting issue. With no wind it only drifts about 5 feet or so, with any wind it's much larger. I've read about adjusting gains but haven't found where to adjust those things. I calibrated the vision right out of the box, and I have tried to recalibrate it with no luck. It won't go into calibration mode. I have never plugged the vision into a computer and am running 1.0.37, camera n/a and naza/m na. Would anyone be willing to call me and talk me through a couple of things? I've heard about 3.0 having issues, so I didn't want to update it. Can I update it to a slightly newer edition without going to 3.0? In florida, it's always windy, so my only complaint is not having a gimbal and the vision being very shaky. Other than that, being a newbie and flying it right out of the box, I couldn't be happier. Also, how strong of winds are safe to operate in? 5-10? Obviously the calmer the day the better the flight, I'm just always nervous of the wind flipping it or pushing it into a tree or something

Bucsfanatic59 said: