Compass won't calibrate

Reaction score
While flying this morning I got a red "compass error" message and after landing the compass won't calibrate, this is the exact spot I have been flying from for 5 months and where the compass calibrated just before the flight today. Any suggestions?

Make sure you do not have anything metallic on your person and/or try calibrating the compass at a different location.

Move cell phone and controller away from quad to do the calibration. If that doesn't work change location. Check the plug going to the compass and be sure it's tight. Good luck!

While flying this morning I got a red "compass error" message and after landing the compass won't calibrate, this is the exact spot I have been flying from for 5 months and where the compass calibrated just before the flight today. Any suggestions?

I had this same issue this past weekend at Lake Tahoe. It took about 3 or 4 compass calibration attempts before all was good before each flight (same location). I think it has something to maybe do with the solar flare a few days ago.

Another user in your area (SC) also had the same issue as you within the last couple days as well.

Yes, metal is the biggest thing that will produce this error. Every time I set my P3P on the tailgate of my truck I get this error. As soon as I take it 20' away and put it on the ground it goes away.

Make sure you do not have anything metallic on your person and/or try calibrating the compass at a different location.
Hi thanks for replying but how would that account for the message coming up in flight?
I had this same issue this past weekend at Lake Tahoe. It took about 3 or 4 compass calibration attempts before all was good before each flight (same location). I think it has something to maybe do with the solar flare a few days ago.

Another user in your area (SC) also had the same issue as you within the last couple days as well.