Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

COMPASS PROBLEM! (I think)

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by a3buster, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. a3buster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all, my phantom took a hard landing recently and now the compass wont initialize properly in the NOSE DOWN position.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. ULI RAY

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine took a dive after I lost a nut and prop, now it wont go on GPS mode, no green light and can't go on calibration mode neither. Help!!!! I was doing so good until I lost the nut around 100 feet.
     
  3. ULI RAY

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    After impatiently waiting for a reply I decided to gut out my phantom, and I think my GPS is broken. The GPS module has no protection and is directly screwed on the top housing cover. My phantom did a belly up crash so all the impact was on the dome part of the cover where the GPS is located. I think it would be wise to protect that area with some foam, that would have saved my GPS. Now just eed to know how to get new GPS.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. rudeboy

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    are you sure its broken?? same goes for compass, after a hard landing/crash check all connections inside the phantom to see none have come loose or popped out also hook up to assistant software to see if its recognising that a compass/gps is present!!
     
  5. a3buster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can someone tell me how to connect the software? I need to try and figure that out....
     
  6. ULI RAY

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    i think is broken because it won't go on gps mode and doesn't go on calibration mode. I have checked all connection and tried numerous times to go on gps mode and calibration but all I get is flashing yellow led. I hope I'm wrong because that's the most expensive part. How can I check if it is?
     
  7. rudeboy

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    guys you need to download the assistant software and drivers from the dji site,go to products-phantom-downloads and you'll get all the software and manuals, install assistant software, plug in phantom to USB port then instal driver, open asistant software then check to see if its registering a compass/gps is connected if not check all connections inside!!
     
  8. ULI RAY

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'll do that tonight thanks
     
  9. globalcop

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like a good place to mount a Moon Gel Pad is right on top.

    And yes, everyone should get their Phantom connected to the Assistant software. If anyone is on Windows 8 and having trouble getting the drivers installed, let me know. DJI sent me a link to the Win8 certified drivers.
     
  10. ULI RAY

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes with the software it will tell you status of compass, gyroscope and GPS. As suspected both compass and gyroscope spits out info and GPS coordinates remains on zero. I stepped out of the house to be sure to get clear satellite view and still same result. Can I assume it's broken? BTW thanks gcop for link!
     

    Attached Files:

  11. diver95

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having same problem. Had hard crash and it will not calibrate. Connect to Naza software and it says to connect to controler???????
     
  12. globalcop

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turn on your transmitter, with throttle at zero of course.