Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Compass Mod low

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nada1, Apr 4, 2014.

  1. Nada1

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can your compass mod be to low?? Mine is always around 700, but it will calibrate and fly's just fine. There are several things you can do to lower the mod, but what do you do if it is below the recommend setting?

    Thanks
     
  2. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't fly at 700, wouldn't even dare taking off. What is scary is that the Phantom permits you to fly it at this level.....

    You need to degauss the compass. Take a magnet and wave it in circles up close to the compass, while you are in the assistant software. The numbers will go crazy until you stop. Once stopped you want to be near 1600. If not try again.
     
  3. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    What is the acceptable window? Mine is around 1700 - 1800.
     
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    1600-1800 is the sweet spot. My usual value is ~1650
     
  5. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Thank you. I was wondering about that. Glad to know Im in the sweet spot. ;)
     
  6. Nada1

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought when you used the magnet, that only lowered the mod value, not raise it?
     
  7. Nada1

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I guess I'm just stupid....I did the magnet....several times, always came up with the same mod value...so while searching the internet for more help, I came across a posting that said to make sure your fonts are set as small as they will go. Hummmmmm...went into control panel and changed the font setting, guess what...everything is, and was just fine, my display was only showing the last 4 numbers...the screen shot's show the way it was with large fonts, then change to small fonts. who knew. oh well, thanks for the help...sometimes I look for problems when i don't have any
     

    Attached Files: