Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Madkant

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Received my P4 today, after a couple of hours of clunky updates, most of which failed at least once, and holding my tongue the right way whilst restarting phone, controller and bird I finally had the thing up to date. The whole time I had a compass error, asking me not too calibrate but restart the thing. After some time I found the compass calibration in the sensor menu, under the advanced tab in the drone part of the (main) menu......... I'm a marine electronics tech so used to searching for important things three or four menu levels deep. Swung both compasses, another thing that is like riding a bike for a marine tech. Is annoying that there is no confirmation that calibration is successful, obviously was not successful for compass 2 as still get constant error asking to restart. Found a post on the DJI support forum with someone having same issue and the DJI tech suggested "tapping" the bird as maybe the compass was stuck.... Wtf. The thing is worth, well cost.. 2k AU. I'm not overly happy. Lemon
     
    Red88rick likes this.
  2. Kman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    425
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Make sure you don't calibrate the compass indoors or near electrical lines, metal, or metal that is in the ground that you can't see.

    You'll get an error every time.
     
  3. Madkant

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hardware fault
     
  4. ryantrax

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Xenia, Ohio
    You did a complete 360 degree rotation with it horizontal then a complete 360 degree rotation with it pointed nose down? What color did the LED's flash when you completed the procedure?
     
  5. Madkant

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yah, as I said I swung both compasses, first one gave green, second flashed yellow.
     
  6. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,729
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    If the P4 is like the P3, you often have to go quite a bit past 360 for the second spin.
     
  7. Madkant

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah I have tried everything. Compass 1 calibrates fine, Compass 2 says the restart aircraft :(
     
  8. Madkant

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Pic
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Were you outdoors?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. Kman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    425
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Are you calibrating in the house? That will never work.
     
    snowghost likes this.
  11. Madkant

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah I was calibrating in front yard.
     
  12. Jussaguy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    385
    There is no compass in the bird to tap.

    It's electromegnemeters. Those are what make up the compass and IMU sensor info and tapping is a goofy offering.
     
  13. Red88rick

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    My compass 2 days disconnected. Brand new to. Keeps telling me compass calibration error. And restart aircraft. Going to exchange mine ASAP. Tired multiple times to calibrate. In different locations. Compass 1 is reading ok.
     
  14. Madkant

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same same
     
  15. Madkant

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Confirmed it is DOA and DJI will be picking unit up for exchange
     
  16. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    well crap
     
  17. Red88rick

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Btw I got my new one. Compass 2 should read just as compass one does. Was not sure if compass 2 disconnected was normal seeing compass 1 was ok. Also the packaging seems to be updated on the new one. Regardless finally I'm in the air again without any issues. Still hesitant to go all out untill I know all the systems are ok.
     
  18. Madkant

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ahh nice Red. I'm Australia so will have to wait for DJI to arrange courier and send out a new one. I will let you all know how long process takes. Awaiting reply to my exchange email atm
     
    Red88rick likes this.