Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. arizeda

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    23
    Did anyone else notice the compass error @ exactly 4:11 in the one of the Verge Phantom 4 review videos?

    It quickly flashed up on screen when they were flying over the building testing the obstacle avoidance. Bearing in mind the P4 has dual IMU's, I found it interesting.

    Youtube video:


    Screenshot:
    [​IMG]
     
    #1 arizeda, Mar 5, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2016
  2. aaronrivera

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    70
    Well it didnt last long so maybe the second imu fixed the problem n didnt prolong the error
     
  3. arizeda

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    23
    Perhaps! Interesting nonetheless!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. hionbusa

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    11

    I noticed Props in the footage @ 3:49 .
     
  5. arizeda

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    23
    Watch the first video in this thread.

    Phantom 4 Videos Thread

    The reviewer notes the motors are only a cm or so higher, and the camera is actually mounted higher than the P3. So I think the whole "less prop in footage" thing is very exaggerated. But we can just tilt the camera down a bit right? Not ideal but no different to before


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,929
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    You can't fix a compass error. And the IMU most certainly cannot fix it. However, with two compasses, you can be more certain of the error and maybe even detect external interference (uncertain). Theoretically. With the right programming.

    And since you can get a more reliable output from two IMUs, it may improve handling in case of a compass error. Theoretically. With the right programming.
     
    arizeda likes this.
  7. Fast13

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    94
    In the video they have it labeled as RAW 4K. I didn't think you could get off raw out of the camera? Has that changed from the P3P? If so that would be very interesting. Then you could use Davinci Resolve 12 to grade the footage for a higher dynamic dynamic range of color and light. That would be huge for the final image quality. Right now DJI's only camera with the ability to give you RAW video is the X5R fore the inspire. Does anyone know the truth? My suspicion is that labeling was a mistake on the part of The Verge.
     
  8. arizeda

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    23
    Most likely poor choice of words. They probably meant it as in straight from the camera i.e. No post processing.

    From what I understand LOG mode is DJI's "RAW" mode?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. AirSpace2016

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    18
    I am curious as they now fly closer to objects whether it stands more chance of introducing compass errors or interference where as most people may play it safe and be further away etc.