Compass error - IMU calibration not clearing it

Reaction score
Getting "Compass error, please move the aircraft or calibrate the compass". When I initially saw this error last week, I did an IMU and Gimbal auto calibration, and it cleared it (did it with P3P cold). I'm now fully updated on latest firmware, app, etc. I have done the IMU calibration twice, and done compass calibration several times, and the error is not clearing (and yes, I have tried moving it to another location). Whats going on here? Do I have a defective P3?

Attachments

• IMG_0360.jpg
    IMG_0360.jpg
    303.4 KB · Views: 1,887
Last edited:
What is the local magnetic environment where you are getting this message?
The most common cause is trying to launch from a manhole cover, your car roof or concrete with steel reinforcing and simply moving away from the iron or steel is the fix.
Calibrating your IMU won't help. The compass is not related.

Launching from none of the above...it's out in my side yard, launching from a plastic cover. I'm not sure if Wifi can be a culprit, as my office isn't too far off...but I tried on other side of house, and got the same

It's telling you that your compass is detecting a magnetic field significantly different from what it would expect.
Have you gone away from your house to an open field well away from anything likely to have a magnetic field associated with it. Wifi shouldn't have any effect on your compass unless you are 6 inches from your router.

It doesn't add up...I just don't understand what would be different. I always take off from this same spot, and never had this issue after 30+ flights. I'll give it a shot tomorrow though and take it to a field. Thanks

I have to agree. This new compass , if it's as "sensitive" as claimed is a real annoyance. Seems you can't be anywhere within 15 ft of any metal. Which in my opinion is totally ridiculous!