Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Compass error - IMU calibration not clearing it

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Australis5, Aug 8, 2015.

  1. Australis5

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    FL
    Getting "Compass error, please move the aircraft or calibrate the compass". When I initially saw this error last week, I did an IMU and Gimbal auto calibration, and it cleared it (did it with P3P cold). I'm now fully updated on latest firmware, app, etc. I have done the IMU calibration twice, and done compass calibration several times, and the error is not clearing (and yes, I have tried moving it to another location). Whats going on here? Do I have a defective P3?
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 Australis5, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2015
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,759
    Likes Received:
    3,467
    What is the local magnetic environment where you are getting this message?
    The most common cause is trying to launch from a manhole cover, your car roof or concrete with steel reinforcing and simply moving away from the iron or steel is the fix.
    Calibrating your IMU won't help. The compass is not related.
     
  3. Australis5

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    FL
    Launching from none of the above...it's out in my side yard, launching from a plastic cover. I'm not sure if Wifi can be a culprit, as my office isn't too far off...but I tried on other side of house, and got the same
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,759
    Likes Received:
    3,467
    It's telling you that your compass is detecting a magnetic field significantly different from what it would expect.
    Have you gone away from your house to an open field well away from anything likely to have a magnetic field associated with it. Wifi shouldn't have any effect on your compass unless you are 6 inches from your router.
     
  5. Australis5

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    FL
    It doesn't add up...I just don't understand what would be different. I always take off from this same spot, and never had this issue after 30+ flights. I'll give it a shot tomorrow though and take it to a field. Thanks
     
  6. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    108
    I have to agree. This new compass , if it's as "sensitive" as claimed is a real annoyance. Seems you can't be anywhere within 15 ft of any metal. Which in my opinion is totally ridiculous!

    Seriously, my p1 p2 & fc 40 flew in similar situations (places) without a problem. Now, I find myself moving into open field to get an acceptable calibration?! Needless to say, very disappointed.
     
  7. Tricky

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Westchester County, New York
    i too had the "move aircraft or calibrate..." today for the first time, though thats not saying much, ive only had this for two days. i was indoors, in a big old house, near (7 ft) from lead latticed windows. so not sure if that was the cause...but i went outside for my compass cal and all went well.
     
  8. Australis5

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    FL
    I went to an open area, away from anything, and getting the same compass errors. Not happy. Any ideas?
     
  9. Australis5

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    FL
  10. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    108
    Could be audio feedback, interference. Just like when bringing a microphone closer to an amplifier speaker. My cordless phone does the same when I set it too close to my computer speaker.
     
  11. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    108
    This compass topic is getting very confusing.

    For example, when flying my fc40 for instance and landing it in the bed of my pickup truck the LED would flash yellow/red indicating a compass error. However, repositioning the fc40 from where I had a good compass it flew fine without recalibrating.

    Can I assume the P3 compass will react in the same way? Or do I need to recalibrate it even though I get a "Safe to fly" after repositioning?
     
  12. Australis5

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    FL
    Right, what I meant was that the sound it is making (the sound where it sounds like it is updating firmware) is what I was referring to...not the sound that sounded like audio interference (because that is what that was). The "firmware" sound was present inside or outside in an open area.
     
  13. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Heres what I think as everyone's opinions differ.

    I don't do compass calibrations unless the sensor > compass values are outside 1300-1700. My P3 adv usually sits at 1500 mod value.

    Find an open field and do the compass calibration. This will take a clean "snapshot".
    Return to the site you are flying at and before launch, have a look at the compass mod values. If outside the ranges, walk to another or use a cardboard/plastic box as there could be rebar in the ground. The compass anomalies happen closest to ground, so when you get airborne, the compass should return to normal.

    Lets look at this the other way around.
    If you do a compass calibration near metals/metallic/magnetic objects, you will get a dirty compass "snapshot" - a false north. Once you get airborne, the phantom's north will change to the true north and hence the flyway. This wont happen in the P3 as it now knows how to detect anomalies. The P3 will switch to P-Atti mode and therefore you will need to fly her back without the GPS and compass.
     
  14. Australis5

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    FL
    So what is the best way to degauss the compass. Nothing I have tried is working. I've gone out to an empty field...still compass error. Re-installed the latest firmware...still compass error. Tried calling DJI support - they don't even pick up, or allow you to go on hold (a whole other rant)...still compass error?? Is degaussing next? I know it involved a magnet around the compass. Help!!
     
  15. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    http://www.phantompilots.com/threads/compass-calibration-and-degaussing.9470/
     
  16. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    If you are getting a compass error thats not going away maybe try doing a compass calibration instead of an imu calibration. Being they are not the same thing.
     
  17. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I believe he has already tried that.
     
  18. Justgregg

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    Take the top canopy off and make sure the gps wire is attached.
     
  19. themayor70

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am getting the exact error too with my P3 Pro and have tried everything.. it actually shows up to 10 or more satelites locked in but won't go into gps mode.. at times for a breif momet the error will disappear and go into gps mode and then back out again and give message to fly in non gps mode.. and then back to the error message again... I flew it yesterday and it didn't handle worth a darn and got away from me... if I didn't have the "come home" option I would have lost it. I tried it again today and when the "safe to fly gps" lit up I tried it and only got a few feet off the ground and it took off sideways.. quick put it down hard and took the tips off a couple props... Came in and did the IMU calibration again and compass calibration and same message. I'm fairly new to drones and just about scared to even try it till I can find some answers...
     
  20. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Make sure you are in a wide open area when you do the compass calibration and away from all metal objects. Do not take of near metal objects on take off from concrete driveways or sidewalks that may have rebar or wire mesh in them.