Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Compass error during flight

Discussion in 'Phantom 4 Discussion' started by thunderbird, May 14, 2016.

  1. thunderbird

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Red message pop-up saying compass error and to recalibrate during flight. The message was so quick only last like 2 seconds and I couldn't read the full message

    After 2 second it went back to safe to fly gps


    Any idea why?
     
  2. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    I had this bizarre occurrence once with my P3A. I was about a mile out at 200' altitude when suddenly I received the compass error. I had full signal so I hovered & panned to see if I was flying over anything that might cause magnetic interference but nothing obvious was in sight.

    So I brought her home manually, landed, calibrated the compass, & took off with a fresh battery. A short time into the flight the same thing happened. Brought her home & bagged it for the day. It has never happened since & I have no idea why it happened? I launched from my driveway as I have done many times before & since without incident.

     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Compass error during Forum Date
compass stuck error....no issues during flight Standard/4k Discussion Feb 25, 2017
Concrete magnetic compass error General Discussion Sunday at 10:14 AM
1.7.9 Compass Error Fixed! (When Downgrading) 1.5.7 Fix also? Standard/4k Discussion Saturday at 6:55 PM
Standard Random Compass Errors Phantom 3 Help Friday at 10:04 AM
Compass error and can't calibrate also no data received between RC and gimbal Phantom 4 Pro Help Friday at 9:48 AM