Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Compass error / atti mode question

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by FLOATFLYER, Oct 29, 2015.

  1. FLOATFLYER

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    I am New to the site and leaning a lot.

    Thanks to all that contribute. this is great source of information and learning at lot about my P3 Pro :)

    here are my newb questions:

    Lets assume I take off in P mode and during the flight I get a compass error message during the flight ...Should I manually switch to atti mode and regain control and land ? I believe it will it automatically switch to P atti mode while still in P mode but will P atti allow me to control manually, is not switching to atti the correct procedure?

    also Is there a message that comes up if the GPS signal is lost? (probably unlikely I know ) but what would be the procedures ?

    Many Thanks !!
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,962
    Likes Received:
    5,582
    Location:
    US
    If you're not able to control your Phantom in P mode, then switch to A mode (ATTI). If you still have control, then switching to A mode is not necessary.


    No. Your Phantom will auto switch to P-ATTI mode -- and, then back to P-GPS mode when it reconnects to 6+ satellites. You'll see "Safe to Fly (GPS)" at the top, center of the DJI GO app when you're in P-GPS mode.
     
  3. FLOATFLYER

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    Great ! Thank you for the help
     
  4. FCPhantom

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Finland

    Check this video, you can see what happens, when Compass error kick in..(Compass error came on 05:00).
    It switch automatic to P-ATTI and before landing, I Switch to A-mode.
     
  5. FLOATFLYER

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks for the video !! ..much appreciated .
    so I see when the compass error happened and it changed to P-atti mode you had sufficient control to bring it back without manually switching to atti , then you switched to atti to land.
    This is good to see first hand so that if this happens I can deal with the situation.
    Did you ever find out why the compass error?
     
  6. FCPhantom

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Finland
    I think, place I was perform compass calibration, there was something interference. Since then, I have not perform compass calibration before flight, if I have not tavel far (50 km) from previous flight location...
     
  7. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    For Information

    I took mine 150 miles from where I normally fly, did not recalibrate the compass and flew about 20 flights with no issues.
     
  8. QuadcopterFL

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    I had the same thing happen to me...but it happened right after takeoff and resulted in the quad going backwards and crashing about 5' off the ground...no damage, but I still have no idea why this happened as I had 10 seats locked. It happened so fast I could do nothing.
     
  9. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    There may be ferrous present in the soil on a piece of metal close to the surface which could result in a compass error and cause this issue. Mesh or rebar in concrete will also do this if it is close enough to the surface.
     
  10. QuadcopterFL

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    Could be, but I didn't calibrate the compass and always fly in the same spot...kinda weird, no good explanation, but it sounds like others have had this issue where it just switches out of p-gps and into atti mode, even with plenty of seats locked.