Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Compass calibration

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Andres Posada, Oct 18, 2015.

  1. Andres Posada

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    18
    Do you guys calibrate after swapping batteries? Even if you calibrated for first flight?
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    Definitely not after swapping batteries. There's no need to.
    I haven't calibrated the compass for 3 months.
    Read this to understand what compass calibration does and when it's necessary.
    Compass Calibration, A Complete Primer | DJI Phantom Forum
     
    snowghost likes this.
  3. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    No-- a compass calibration is not required after every flight -- nor every day-- nor every location.-- You only have to recalibrate the compass if it shows a compass error when you power up the P3 and if you are going to be flying at a location that is several hundred miles from where you normally fly.
     
  4. jephoto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    179
    Maybe you are confusing setting the Home point wig Compass Calibration?
    Do you mean where you rotate the bird to set your current Home point?

    If so, no you don't need to do that either if taking off from the same spot ( or reasonably close )
    And if that's not what you mean- sorry.....
     
  5. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    @jephoto,
    You rotate the Phantom on a horizontal plane, then turned face to ground and rotated once again, to calibrate the compass, that's all.

    Home point is set by GPS and the satellites up above. ;-)

    RTFM!! (read the flight manual)
    Please get a better understanding of your rather expensive Bird. Before it flies away on you. That would be no fun.
    & I'm afraid, Not a happy landing.

    RedHotPoker
     
  6. jephoto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    179
    Sorry for getting the terminology mixed. I do calibrate for every new location I fly from. Every time.
    But do not if just swapping batteries at the same spot. That's all I meant.
    I was thrown off by what bobmeyers said about not needing to calibrate unless flying from a new spot hundreds of miles away.
    That sounds off to me. If I move to a new location, even 1/4 mile away, I redo the compass calibration in case I do a RTH. Don't want it to come HOME to my previous location.
    Look at pages 44-45 in the Manual.
     
    #6 jephoto, Oct 19, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2015
  7. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,256
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    It can be true.
    I have traveled from S. Fla. to Western N.C. with no need to re-cal upon arrival or return home.
    Both times through TSA scanners.
     
  8. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    Some serious misunderstanding there.
    Compass calibration has nothing to do with home point recording.
    A bad compass calibration won't make your Phantom think home is somewhere it's flown before.
    It might make your Phantom fly a curve when it's trying to fly straight.
    Recalibrating frequently is completely unnecessary and introduces the potential go get a bad calibration if you attempt calibration in a bad location.

    Read this to understand what compass calibration does and when you need to do it.
    Compass Calibration, A Complete Primer | DJI Phantom Forum
     
  9. jephoto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    179
    Thanks. I'll read that.
    I guess I did misunderstand that point.
    Are you saying that when I startup at a new spot (locally without huge travel) the Homepoint will update on its own and we will get the flashing green- Ready to Fly GPS mode on its own as soon as the bird connects with the Sattellites?
    No need to recalibrate during a given days flying even if in different spots?
     
  10. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    Homepoint comes from your GPS deriving the Phantom's position from satellites.
    Calibration of the compass adjusts your compass to deal with the magnetic field environment it has to fly in so it can fly straight.

    Really you don't need to endlessly recalibrate the compass and you're probably better of and safer if you just get a good calibration and stick with it.
    I've only done a few in over two years of flying and I frequently travel 100 miles or more between locations.
    Understanding how the Phantom works is one of the keys to safe flight.
     
    Pete Leare and bobmyers like this.
  11. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
  12. NorthcountySD

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    North County San Diego
    Does the compass calibration have anything to do with the setting of the home point? For some reason I have the two associated with each other and would love to hear more on the home point like the great info here on compass calibration!

    Seems I calibrate the compass each time just to be on the safe side If I don't, will the home point be updated by the satellites? Seem obvious but so do quite a few other things I've managed to let slip on occasion ... Thanks!
     
  13. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    I wouldn't calibrate unless it requires you to.
     
  14. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    home point is set by GPS. Has nothing to do w/ compass.
     
  15. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    Read post #10 above. It answers exactly this question.
    Better understanding of how your Phantom works is one of the keys to safe flight
     
  16. HotRod T

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am showing compass error, have tried ICU calibration twice and have reformed several compass calibrations, unit will not change ??
     
  17. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    At what location are you getting the error? Did you try changing locations? You may have to degauss the compass sensor.
     
  18. HotRod T

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have tried various locations with no luck at all, not sure what you mean by " degauss the compass sensor?
     
  19. rwakins

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    22
    I only calibrate if I travel several miles since the last calibration. Calibrating too often cause a lot of issues
     
  20. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX