Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Compass Calibration

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Hdman1216, Jan 19, 2015.

  1. Hdman1216

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is getting frustrating. Trying to do my first flight. After switching everything on, Phantom self tests and seems ok and then nothing but flashing yellow. After flipping the right switch 5-10 times light keeps flashing during and after the calibration dance.
    It just keeps flashing yellow until turned off. Also, I am showing 8 satellites on Vision app. Vision app also said calibration
    is needed? Tried to search in here for answers but nothing specific to my problem.
    Just downloaded software and firmware again. Re calibrated V3 controller too.
    Help Please. 60 degrees in Kansas today and trying to fly.
    Thanks
    Don
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,925
    Likes Received:
    5,574
    Location:
    US
    How exactly are you doing the calibration dance?
     
  3. Hdman1216

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Knew that would get a quick response. Hold Phantom and 360 degree horizontal then turn on side and do the same.
    Tried fast, slower and slow. Still nothing but yellow flashing.
    Am I missing something.
    Thanks
     
  4. Utopia Texas

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brookshire And Galveston, Texas
    This may not help but try initiating the compass calibration in the Vision App. Instead of flipping switch S1. I do it this way just to keep wear and tear off the S1 switch but it may work for you starting from the Vision App. Would not hurt to try.....
     
  5. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Turn on side???? (I think) your doing it wrong.

    Find open field and remove all metal objects on yourself.
    Enable the calibration via DJI app.
    I use 2 hands and hold the lower skids above my head and spin 360.
    look up and watch the light change.
    Then drop the nose of the phantom down and spin again.
    look up and watch the light change.

    Done.
     
  7. Hdman1216

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I appreciate everyone's response. The problem is that after flipping the right side switch, I get nothing but a FLASHING YELLOW LIGHT. It NEVER changes when I turn the Phantom horizontal or verticle. (I know how to turn the Phantom).
    All software is current.

    Don
     
  8. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    rapid yellow lights when you first turn on the phantom = RTH/Failsafe = no controller detected.
    Is your controller on?
     
  9. Hdman1216

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, controller is on. Power up lights are correct then defaults to flashing yellow.
     
  10. marg2

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    27
    sequence Mako? ( turning bird before TX) or having tx s1 and s2 on wrong position?
     
  11. marg2

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    27
    will hook the phantom and transmitter to pc DJI assist and make sure on RC setting your s1 s2 are in the right setting,
     
  12. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    IMO Sequence doesn't matter.
    DJI recommends transmitter on first. You need this on to get in calibration mode anyways (you can do via app also).

    I'm gonna dumb it down and eliminate errors.
    Im doing this from memory so you may burn me if you like..

    LEAVE BOTH TOGGLE switches in the UPPER most position on the transmitter.
    Turn the bird on and leave the bird in an open field and try and get green flashes for the >7 sats. This will eliminate any incorrect flashes you may see.
    When you see stable greens start the calibration.
    To initialise the compass calibration, flick the right toggle on the transmitter all the way down and all the way up x 5 or more and leave it in the UP POSITION.
    The lights will change to yellow flashes. Pick up the phantom and spin on its horizon above your head 360 till the lights become a solid yellow. Keep it above your head and point the nose down and spin another 360, till the lights flash stable green.
     
  13. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Take the props off and turn phantom and transmitter on.
    Wiggle both sticks on the transmitter. Can you tell me if the camera is moving on its yaw/pan axis? It should have slight movement.
    If it is, then the controller Is talking to the phantom.

    The yellow flashes can also mean that the controller and phantom need calibrating.
     
  14. DownunderPhantom

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grafton, New South Wales, Australia
    turning the bird either way will get a response from the LED's if everything is working. It sounds like the bird is not seeing the transmitter.

    Just a simple test. Without props attached, turn everything on as per normal, wifi transmitter, controller, then the bird. If after the initial self test you still get the yellow LED's, turn everything off then turn the bird on by itself if you get exactly the same LED responses it definitely sounds like no transmitter is being detected.

    try rebinding the transmitter to the bird.
     
  15. Guondersub

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tenerife (Canary Islands)
    I don't know if it has to do with your problem but, are you close to an airport area?

    Rebind seems also a good and harmless idea.
     
  16. ncdrone

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. s1 up and down 6x stop in the middle. rotate 360 until green.
    2. s1 up and down 6x stop in the middle. rotate 360 with camera facing the ground until green.

    Seems weird but until I did that it would not calibrate.
     
  17. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,925
    Likes Received:
    5,574
    Location:
    US
    ncdrone, you should not toggle S1 in the middle of the calibration. Perhaps the second toggle attempt was ignored since your were already in mid calibration.
     
  18. ncdrone

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Agreed, I shouldn't have to but its the only way it works. Weird. I might try a reset, but worried it will screwup my workaround. :eek:
     
  19. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    What happens if you do the second rotation without the second toggle?
     
  20. Tripc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    57
    Can you start your motors? If not it might be controller is not bounded to the Phantom. Just a thought