Compass and in u calibration out the box

Reaction score
Hi guys I am total newbie here, I have got my p3a today and have updated firm ware successfully but the app shows Imu error. In overall status it says Imu is normal and asks to calibrate compass. I have done the dance till my feet hurt but it still will not calibrate..,.. Any ideas? Sorry if this is s bit of a dumb question

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

Doesn't sound like you did a IMU? Do one anyway.

Added:
Info on IMU
IMU Calibration

Thanks Rod, I haven't done Imu calibration, it says normal so will go and try and do one as per the off on the link you sent. Thanks

I have now done the Imu calibration successfully thank you. I have done the compass dance again and it says safe to fly. It does keep saying atti mode out loud, and when I select the menu it still has the box around "calibrate" on the compass rather than "normal" have I calibrated the compass successfully or not? Again sorry if I sound a donut......

The app will say that if you're near a source of magnetic interfere such as rebar hidden in concrete ... Where are you trying to fly? If this is you're 1st flight attempt, it should be in wide open field and not your back yard.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It is all new, I am in my back yard but haven't fitted the props yet!! I was just trying to set everything up at home with an Internet connection at hand to keep checking things!! I will go out on the farm in the morning and do the dance again with the props on and see what happens. I do now have solid green lights rather than flashing.....

Hum, I have seen this before but might take awhile to find it.
No messages of magnetic interference.
Both S1 and S2 all the way up?
How many satellites does it see.
On the IMU display it will show compass readings, I will have to search on what is normal. Does it say compass calibration successful when you complete the dance?

Where is the green light?