Common Wifi Channel Across Entire City?

Reaction score
I am an Xfinity wifi customer and I have noticed that Xfinity has built a universal wifi network (accessible to customers) by piggybacking off of the customers wifi. I am no expert but i would assume they divert some of the bandwidth to this network. The point is, there is a common wifi system throughout the entire metropolitan area. When I considered what would be required to fly for long distances or where signal would cut like behind a grove of trees or a large building, I figured some sort of buoyed wifi repeaters would be needed to create a large network...but if the network is already there there is no need for the repeater. No since we depend on having a wifi signal to communicate with our phantoms, i was curious what would be involved, if possible, in using this comprehensive wifi network to communicate with the phantom. This is a conceptual question at this point but I dont know where else to go with it.

Indeed xfinity started that last year & you'll find many "xfinity wi-fi" nodes in your travels. It uses a portion of your bandwidth to allow xfinity customers to log on. If you sign into one with your regular xfinity logon credentials, it will auto-connect with all others as you travel about. You can actually opt your router out if you so desire.

As to using the xfinity wi-fi as a massive "Phantom Control" network I'm not sure if it is possible? You would have to get both your mobile device & the Phantom aircraft connected. Although there are lots of xfinity nodes, they don't provide the same sort of directed signal as the Phantom's wi-fi extender, and there are certainly lots of dead spots.

The ultimate control setup would be something like the Flytrex Sky system, that utilizes a cellular connection for control & tracking. If they could add in the video feed your only limitation would be battery longevity!