Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

CM 2000 gimbal, do I need the batt. power adaptertter?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by xstatic, Aug 26, 2013.

  1. xstatic

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    At Hobby-Wing.com they sell the battery power adapter for powering the CM-2000 gimbal. But can't we connect the power right to the free wire (power from battery) in the arm of the phantom? Do we need to buy the adapter?

    Also I was thinking of buying the GoPro Hero3 Carbon Fiber Frame for CM2000, If I purchase this for my Gopro hero 3, if I decided to fly without the housing, can I do so as if I didn't purchase the housing. Or am I locked into always have to use the housing. Does it attach to the base somehow and allow me to use or not use at my own discretion?
     
  2. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    no, you absolutely do NOT need that battery adapter.
    just attach a male JST to the Aux power lead coming out of the Phantom.

    (the power adapter is only good for people who fly f330/450 and similar who might not have an extra power cable normally).

    as for mounting the GoPro, not sure if the cage is really all that necessary.
    i don't have one.
    not sure how easy the cage is so install/remove, but I doubt it's interchangeable.
     
  3. careysb

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    1
    While you're at it add two JST connectors, the extra one might be handy for an FPV transmitter. JST's usually come with a wire lead so it's easy to make a 'Y' connection.
     
  4. xstatic

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the fatshark attirude and the phantomunt gimbal but it is not smooth, so I am upgradingng to the cm2000. If you see the videos for mine, even the rcdrones that sell them their video demo is jerky. But the cm2000 are in a much better class, all seem so smooth, like they are running on rails in the sky.
     
  5. rampage42

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought the cage after the fact, had to re attach the sensor and re balance. I like the camera in the cage, fits well.
     
  6. xstatic

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why did you decide to buy the cage?
    Can you use the cage without any major modifications? Can you switch easily back and forth or do you have to rebalance?