Class E question, getting prepared for part 107 certification

Reaction score
Team,
I am studying for knowledge test. I am not a pilot. Hope you can clarify this about class E and G airspace. If you look at Barnes County airport ( BAC), what is the floor of Class E inside and outside the magenta circle, is it 700 feet AGL, or 1,200 AGL...why..how you know? I cant differentiate it based on charts legends. I think this is important for UAS remote pilots as we can fly in class G, and the floor of class E will be our class G ceiling.

upload_2016-8-22_10-52-14.png

Attachments

• upload_2016-8-22_10-51-35.png
    upload_2016-8-22_10-51-35.png
    928.9 KB · Views: 560
Magenta means that the floor starts at 700 AGL. Blue is for 1200 AGL. in either case, the floor is above our 'max' altitude. as an additional note: if there are dashed magenta lines around the airport, Class E starts at the surface under certain conditions. You have to check the NOTAMS or contact the appropriate FSS to find out what they are.

so, you mean inside the magenta circle is 700, outside is 1200...that is not clear with these legends...you are right when dashed, floor is sfc. But outside of E, it is not clear what is the height.

upload_2016-8-22_11-11-4.png

No, look at the images you posted. - inside the magenta, the floor is 700 AGL, outside, you are in class G. Inside the blue, floor is 1200 AGL, outside you are in class G.

This is all true.

However...
...IIRC, sUAS pilots operating under 107 will require ATC notification (in writing) while operating AT ANY altitude in Class E airspace as indicated by the outlines discussed here.

Also, Class E does not always coincide with an airport.

Reactions: jofus
yes, but we are at G up to where E starts, which can be 700 or 1,200...don't know how to tell based on sectional chart.
Again, A magenta circle means that the floor is 700 ft AGL and a blue one indicates 1200 AGL. Simple and straightforward.

Reactions: Falcon900
This is all true.