Choppy FPV and quick phone battery drain?

Reaction score
Hello!
I am a fairly new Phantom pilot, this is only my second day out with my new P3. I have plenty pf experience with past RC helicopters and small quad-copters but just recently i got my first "big" drone. I know all about how the pro/advanced have better signals with lightbridge and such but those were out of my price range and still are.

Being only my second day out due to the extreme cold, i am still learning everything my P3 has to offer and how everything works. So my first flight today, I flew my drone us as usual and the FPV was decent, only small lag. I live in a somewhat dense residential area and plenty of trees and everyone with their own wifi network. I have established my max distance is about 600m before video and radio starts completely failing. On this first flight, i was in picture mode and only getting a few nice shots before i brought it in.
I went out again later with a full battery and decided to take a video this time. When i took off, the battery on my iphone 5s was around 70%. I don't think i flew more than a hundred meters away before my video signal was not even usable. It was incredibly choppy and did not even display a picture if i flew over 200m away. The picture only came back when i flew the drone back to me and had less than a 20m distance. I still had a solid RC signal throughout the flight, I also have a homemade windsurfer attached. At about the 10 minutes of flying, i got the 20% battery warning on my phone (remember i started with about 70%) so i immediately brought the drone back to me, just seconds later my phone completely shut off.

So my question is, why does being in film mode just destroy FPV and kill my phone battery when in picture mode my FPV is as expected and my battery doesn't drop more than 30% in a full 20 minute flight?