Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Cheapest tablet that'll be flawless with the Phantom 3 Pro?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by fuzzybabybunny, Nov 2, 2015.

  1. fuzzybabybunny

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 2013 Nexus 7 is still choppy with the P3P despite fresh restarts and turning on airplane mode and being on Marshmallow.

    At this point I just want something that works flawlessly, but I don't want to spend too much money for the latest iPad.

    I need something that'll work out of the box with a standard DJI sunshade as well, so I figure an iPad of some sort? Which one?
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I have the IPAD Air 2 and it works well as long as the outside temps do not exceed 95 degrees F-- It will start lagging and flickering in hot weather or direct sunlight. Flawlessly may be a tall order -- but most of the recommended devices work well.
     
  3. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California
    My 2015 Nexus 9 is great with the P3P although it hot weather in the sun, as others have said, it will be not so great (like 2fps at worst!). I think "flawless" may be a bit optimistic.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,890
    Likes Received:
    5,564
    Location:
    US
  5. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    Galaxy Tab S or S2!
     
  6. Mario_SB

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, USA
    Go with the iPad Mini 2 currently selling brand new for $200. You can probably find a used one cheaper and if so I'd recommend you get the cellular version for the added GPS support. No need for any data plans either. Good luck in your search!
     
  7. tgilbert

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    What's the connection between cellular and GPS? It's it that the non cellular iPad doesn't have GPS built into it? I'm also looking at iPad mini.
     
  8. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    Why this huge attraction for Apple? I see to read of more people having probs with updates causing signal loss etc than I see with Android.
    The Nexus 7 is pretty old now - newer models so much better.
     
  9. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
    I'm running with a 2013 Nexus 7 as a dedicated tablet, and couldn't be happier with it. No, it's not flawless, but it's not let me down yet and the brightness of the screen is its biggest plus.
     
    4wd likes this.
  10. Dima

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm using Ipad Mini4. It works perfectly with my P3P. Also I've tried Iphone 6 once. Again, no problems whatsoever.
     
  11. ForistellFlyer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'm having no problem with the nexus 7 2013. I run it as a dedicated tablet and use it for nothing else. Keep the memory lean and mean.
     
    Wacker2611 likes this.
  12. BillG

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    17
    I used my mini 2 (now for sale) with good luck and now have a mini 4. If I want wifi I tether to my iPhone. If I want GPS I use my Dual XPS-150 that I used to use in my plane (since upgraded to a model with ADS-B.) It all works great and I don't miss not having GPS in the device.
     
  13. smagee62

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    My IPad Air has never had an issue with pilot or go app with phantom 3 pro
     
  14. katemonster

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Second. The screen on my S plus the size (8.4") is just perfect, IMO.
     
  15. wat17

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Was surprised with the Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0 considering its price. I use it as a dedicated drone tablet, so no crap bogging it down. Seemed to tick the boxes for me with being newish, quad core processor, good ram and good price. $200usd from Amazon http://amzn.to/1XRqS2c

    My Samsung works much better than my more expensive iPad mini 2, which I find struggles especially when it gets hot. I live in the tropics so it is always hot.

    I previously ran a Nexus 7 and it was only ok. Was a great tablet, just think it is getting a bit old now. I purchased the Samsung when I dropped my Nexus and smashed the screen. Was a good upgrade.
     
  16. Rocket_Aus

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    89
    I'll third that!! the screen is amazing and the size is perfect
     
  17. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,729
    Likes Received:
    3,448
    Another vote for the Nexus 7 2013 - they work fine.
    Sounds like a configuration problem rather than the hardware.
     
  18. motor_city_phantom

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i've been using an iPad Mini 2 with Cellular.. it's flawless so far, and you can score one for around $250 on craigslist (as ATT is giving them away for $100 to new iphone customers - who then want to flip them)
     
  19. MtyPilot

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have the Galaxy Tab S2 8" and haven't been able to make it connect to my radio control. I have installed the latest firmware updates on both the remote control and on the Phantom 3 profesional, reinstalled the DJI Go app, activated the USB debugging and nothing it just does not connect. Any one else is having the same problem?