Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

cheap gimbals on ebay questions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MILLER4PRESIDENT2020, Feb 21, 2014.

  1. MILLER4PRESIDENT2020

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    17
    I suppose that is the risk you take with buying generic stuff on ebay but I am thoroughly confused and cant get answers from any of the sellers. I see several different gimbals all for around $129. They all have the exact same pictures. (I think that is a problem created by ebay autolisting. When I sold a gopro ebay said "we already have listings for your item would you like us to use that info instead?). I suspect this is the same thing happening with the gimbals, the sellers just let ebay autocomplete their listings for them.

    But I am noticing certain models may be 200g, some may be 400g. Some look like they are aluminum, some look like carbon fiber. Theyll link to a youtube installation video for a different model. The English in some of the descriptions is absolutely horrible. I presume that these are just Chinese distributors listing as much stuff as possible not really proofreading it and making sure that the links to youtube videos are correct? But then they say that they ship from Staten Island,but there will be two different sellers both shipping from Staten Island. Maybe there are actually 2 different distribution in Staten Island but I find it weird that there are two different online storefronts coming from the same place? Just so many weird things that don't make sense with these listings.

    But after all this is said and done, all I am looking for is a relatively light gimbal that is plug and play and has the wiring to connect pitch control to the Naza board.

    here are some examples. has anyone dealt with these? are they complete junk? plug and play? support pitch control without buying extra parts? I know there are foolproof ones like zenmuse but I really cant spend $200+ right now.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/DJI-Phantom...Control_Parts_Accessories&hash=item4d15cf413c
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/DJI-Phantom...Control_Parts_Accessories&hash=item5d46aa617b
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/DJI-Phantom...Control_Parts_Accessories&hash=item461738d10c
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Brushless-G...859?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4ac8e9af43
     
  2. MILLER4PRESIDENT2020

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    17
    in regards to this model. Does it support pitch control? Do I need to buy an extra cable to get pitch control working? It says 360 grams. Isn't that pretty **** heavy when other models say they are around 200grams? It also says. This Gimbal doesn't include a Gopro AV out and Power cable. The GoPro AV out cable is only for FPV, running the signal from your go pro to the TX correct? Also the power cable that it is lacking is only for powering the go pro from the gymbal correct? I can still power the gopro from its own battery? I hope that it is not referring to the power cable for the actual gimbal use because thats kind of pointless to ship a gimbal without power.



    I am not the smartest person but I am certainly not the stupidest. All of these listings seem to do a poor job of describing the contents for noobs like me.
     
  3. MILLER4PRESIDENT2020

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    17
    but i can still run my off the GoPro battery right?
     
  4. MILLER4PRESIDENT2020

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    17
    I mean can i do FPV off my gopro while using the gopro battery? Right now I am doing fpv of the mini camera that came with the fatshark. To do it off the gopro I realize you need to buy a new cable to get the video signal from the gopro but do you need a new power cable as well for the gopro?
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    No.

    Tarot also makes their own video-out cable to use with a gopro mounted on their gimbal, it's designed to fit in the narrow gap between the motor and the camera: http://www.rangevideo.com/index.php/mul ... skids.html

    That cable will let you power the gopro as well if you want, but to me that's pretty pointless and just causes the camera to run hot.

    You might want to get the gimbal from that site as well, I think they have the lowest price and the latest version: http://www.rangevideo.com/index.php/mul ... l-603.html

    If you get that one, this is the plate you'll need to mount it: http://www.rangevideo.com/index.php/mul ... 68a13.html
     
  6. MILLER4PRESIDENT2020

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    17
    thanks, if i was a dealer i would put together a nice easy to read FAQ on half this stuff. I can only imagine the amount of customers scared away by the complexity of something that doesnt need to be so confusing
     
  7. reALIGNed

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S.E. Wisconsin