Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Cheap Gimbal level?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by PSBSAT, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. PSBSAT

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cottage Grove MN.
    I took the cheap route and my new Cheapo Gimbal ($100) arrived.

    Works flawlessly out the box on power only, seems heavy. Not flown yet with it, too windy today.

    Anyway here is the issue, on boot up the gimal tilts to the left slightly (Looking straight on the Phantom)

    I can pack it at one side, but since its new it would be nice if it were perfectly level.

    Any ideas?

    Hope this is the right area : )
     
  2. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    My shark gimbal in my P1 will do the same thing if it's mounted next to the motor on the mounting deck I have 2 options I use the one to the right and the gimbal stays level .
    What gimbal ?
     
  3. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Take a level and ensure the platform the Phantom sits on is perfectly level. I had the same issue, until I figured it out. the table was not level.

    I had used the assistant software to adjust the roll so it was straight, however in flight it was slanted.
     
  4. PSBSAT

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cottage Grove MN.
    Still have the same issue no matter what I do.... tilts to one side.

    It's a Martinez Board and is really bugging me now....

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GAX ... UTF8&psc=1

    The above link is where I got it.....


    Does anyone know what GUI to use? Links?

    Then how to adjust and fix this issue.

    Thanks : )

    here is a video I made you can see the horizon tilted slightly...

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FbOrzJAtJTo

    If looking straight ahead facing GoPro the gimbal is tilted to the left about 5 deg I would guess.
     
  5. Jebus

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got basically the same gimbal (goodluckbuy) and also have this annoying issue. I've tried the calibrations in SimpleBGC and the 6-point calibration, but the problem always seems to come back.

    I've set the button on the gimbal's PCB to calibrate the accelerometer when pressed once and to calibrate the gyroscope when pressed twice. Just wondering though - as I've seen conflicting reports - when you press that button, the gimbal goes 'limp' for about 3 seconds, and then fires back up again. Are you supposed to manually hold the gimbal level while it's 'limp'? I've had luck just pressing the button once, letting it go limp, and then it re-initializes and sometime will go back to level on it's own - without me even touching it.

    Just wondering what the correct procedure should be...
     
  6. PSBSAT

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cottage Grove MN.
    Martinez Board does not seem to have a reset button