Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced Changing the shell, motor mounting problem

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by horakpetr, Jul 29, 2016.

  1. horakpetr

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I had a little crash with my P3A and one of the arms bent.
    So I got another body, so I was putting all the parts into the new one and when I wanted to screw the motors in, I found out that there is a different mounting system.

    View the photos.

    On the photo with the motor, there is the new shell with incompatible mounting and on the other photo, there is the right mounting system.

    Any idea what should I do?
    1) Get a proper shell, if I can still buy it somewhere.
    2) Buy new motors.
    3) Or I was thinking to just break these flat plastic parts and just screw it. Do you think that would safely hold the motors?

    Thank you so much for any help!

    Petr IMG_20160729_151059.jpg IMG_20160729_151949.jpg
     
  2. whoreable

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    58
    all I know is that you have the newest motor style, and the old body style does not match, nor does vice versa. If you have the old body you need the old motor, if you have the new motor you need the new body.
     
  3. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    An there are 2 different main boards, one for the old motors and one for the new motors.
    So the only reasonable way is to buy a new shell for the motor type you have (new type).
     
  4. Ted4797

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Florida
    I must be very lucky as I have change several shells and never had a problem.
     
  5. noki49

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester. UK.
    You might be able to make them fit by cutting a slot in the four upstands.
     
  6. MikeON

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    How can you be sure you get the correct shell? Amazon doesn't tell you whether the one they offer is the new or old one.
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    21,068
    Likes Received:
    6,262
    Location:
    US
    DJI redesigned the shell a long time ago. Your chances of getting the old design are slim to none.
     
    Ted4797 likes this.
  8. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    163
    Are you saying the motors don't sit flat when you try to mount them on the new shell? What version of the motors do you have? I have old motors (2312) mounted on the new shell just fine. Motor.jpg
     
  9. Ted4797

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Florida
  10. mikmouse

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winnipeg
    I have replaced the mb and the motors on my p3a for the motors i bent the tabs on the original bade with my finger and mounted the 2312a motors no problem. The motors do slant at an angle because the old ones did as well. I have tested the new board #96 and i am so happy all works. I had the dtone completely apart . I used the security screwdriver tips i bought at can. Tire for 16 bucks. And i never buy from C.t. good luck.

    Sent from my GT-P5210 using PhantomPilots mobile app