Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced changing the resolution?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Jan1983, Jun 8, 2015.

  1. Jan1983

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can i change the resolution - atm pics are taken with 4000x3000, that sucks. Im using the Android app.
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    3,462
    What sucks about 4000 x 3000?
    Are you wanting bigger or smaller?
     
  3. MikeON

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    4000 x 3000 is the max resolution. If the images are not as sharp as you expect, you can turn up the sharpness in the camera settings. They also sharpen up nicely with Photoshop or other computer software.
     
  4. Jan1983

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wanted a 16:9 res.... 4000x3000 wont fill the screen ;)
     
  5. MikeON

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    I have iOS, but probably the same for Android. Tap the camera settings icon (camera with a gear on it) near upper right. Then tap Image Size (currently set at 4:3). Then tap 16:9.
     
    Jan1983 likes this.
  6. DrChris

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    The best thing to do is crop after the fact. If you change the camera to 16:9 you'll get the same 4000 width with fewer horizontal pixels. In other words, that mode is a crop. If you crop it yourself in post, you'll be able to pick the best crop location and likely get better resulting photos.

    Chris