Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

changing out grey flex cable

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by dutch, Dec 17, 2014.

  1. dutch

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    I am anxiously awaiting a new cable kit ordered after my treetop incident. the 4pin connector
    into the gimbal had wires pulled out and i have lost visual indicators on my screen showing battery level and
    satellite strength. (camera and gimbal seem to still work fine)

    i have been trying to find some help online so i am prepared for the fix once the cable gets here,
    and from what i can see, this cable has 3 connectors going into the gimbal from the phantom, and
    once up into the phantom it becomes 1 cable. then from looking at pictures of opened up phantoms
    i believe that cable splits to go the the appropriate connections inside the phantom.

    my question/concern is what tools may i need for this, anything special? also, it looks like
    i may need some plastic cable ties. while i have it open i will look at my gps cable connection
    and see if i feel like it should have something added to increase it's strength.

    if this cable repair is successful, i hope to get my battery and satellite levels back on my
    screen, but, if it doesn't cure my satellite and battery levels (possible other issue?) would
    it still be safe to fly seeing the phantom as it does have green blinking lights and powers up
    normally? (have tried without props)
     
  2. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    It would be safe to fly from the perspective of the aircraft will not suffer any ill effects of that telemetry not getting to you. But unsafe WRT you not having that data on your phone while flying.
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,737
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    Fixing the cables will fix your telemetry.
     
  4. dutch

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    IF i was to fly, it would be close, i have the lights on the phantom to indicate satellite guidance,
    and it would flash blinking red for low battery, so i may attempt a short flight.
    my son is coming home for christmas and is dieing to see/try it out and i'm
    bummed i clipped that tree the other day.
     
  5. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    If you are impatient and desperately need telemetry to fly and have some basic soldering skills...
    Go down to your hobby store where they sell and modify phantom 2's (non-vision)
    Ask for the guy that fixes/builds them.
    Ask him if he has done any FPV phantom 2 + GoPro kits + transmitter and Receiver + FPV hub (very common build).
    When he does these kits, he normally throws away the 4 pin camera/power cable that comes with the phantom. The cable is red/brown/black/red I think. This cable fits. Take note which cables go where and solder.
    Just ask him nicely and he'll give it to you.

    Removal of the cables is easy if the whole main board comes out. You can do it with out removing the main board but it becomes tricky. The trickiest part is where the cables come down into the phantom. The USB front port has a slit under it. The cables are held by doublesided tape so don't pull it through. The other tricky cable is the wide one that clips into the wifi module. The clip is hard to get to and you just need to be patient and careful with the capacitor that sits near the wifi module..
     
  6. dutch

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    i've found a picture on another bb showing this cable and where it
    connects in the phantom. can you tell me where the capacitor
    you are concerned with is? (total newb here in RC stuff)
    appreciate the help!
    hopefully the new cables will be here tomorrow............... none too soon,
    need to fly this weekend!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. dutch

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    in the same thread, there is more information on the wires and their function,
    which concerns me as i have lost flight telemetry, battery indicator, and satellite
    strength in my app. i only see issues with the 4pin connector, which according to this picture
    and diagram would leave me to believe i may have more issues than just this cable,
    any thoughts on that?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Watch out for the capacitor below
    [​IMG]

    And the 4 pin cable is your culprit. Trust me. I've saved someone $200 (and maybe many others) on this forum. Everyone thinks its the wifi module (can be the case sometimes). But if you have crashed and all of a sudden lost telemetry, the 4 pin clip cable is the offender.
    [​IMG]

    The other 2 sets of cables does nothing but "bridge" a connection to power on the gimbal/camera. I know this because I have successfully flown a GOpro with the DJI app :) Works beautifully. If I ever crash my camera, I'll be heading down this path.
    [​IMG]
     
  9. dutch

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Thank you Mako,
    hopefully saturday i can get her back up and flying again.

    and i'll watch for that capacitor...
     
  10. rbhamilton

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    13
    I had the left most pin pull out on my 4 pin plug. I believe the one marked "camera pitch". Sure enough I couldn't move the camera up or down. Weirdly enough I wasn't seeing any satellite data either. Everything else was working fine. I could start recording, etc.

    I pushed that pin in nice and deep and all was good. Next flight it was out again. I pushed it back in nice and deep then added a droplet of hot glue to the top of the pin to hold it in place. Been good ever since. I suppose I should order another set of wires... *sigh*
     
  11. dutch

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    this seems to be a fairly common issue, it is a very poor connector to start with,
    it sounds like it doesn't take much to dislodge the wires. i wonder if there is a more
    robust connector that can be used there?
    Mako, in the post where you talked about the go/pro mod you mention they
    have a cable to tie into that same port, any idea if it is a different quality connector
    they are using? that might be a smart thing for somebody to sell!
     
  12. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    I don't think this is a connector issue. Rather, I think it's related to the gimbal mounting, with it having enough play that it can pull on the connector.
    I think this problem might be avoidable if you put cable ties through the rubber bushings (but not closed up tight). This may help prevent the bushings from stretching so much that the gimbal pulls on the cables.
     
  13. dutch

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    I had the 2 cable ties, and had no separation at the rubber bushings,, mine was a condition of
    falling down thru tree branches..........................
    it still hurts to think about it.............
     
  14. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    The zenmuse/gopro conversion doesn't use that cable at all.
    I'm thinking of using JST connectors instead or a 4 pin slip off and on molex. So in an event of a crash, the pins just slip out.
    I don't know why they made 1 of 3 cables different. They should have used non-clip in cables on all.
     
  15. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    If you want the 4-pin cable to pull out easily, all you need to do is break off the clip from the plug.
    It will still stay in without it. Just not as securely, which seems to be what you're after.
     
  16. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Its too loose without the clip. The clip keeps the pressure on it. I looked at this morning as i was thinking the same thing
     
  17. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Well, you could always file down the edge of the clip a bit.
     
  18. dutch

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    made the repair today, found out that that white connector had in fact
    broken, like split, so there was no putting the wires back into it.

    the flex wiere in the phantom (V3) had many round magnet type rollers around them,
    and the new wire kit did not come with them.
    we were able to just replace that set of 4 wires and left the other wires in place., well
    we put them back after we realized we could re-use those other wires.
     
  19. dutch

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    but, as i started another thread,
    the phantom does back flips now............
    still not flying, but the gps and battery
    indicators are all now working normal...
     
  20. dutch

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    fixed the backflip issue, we had the M1-M4 connector wrong (had removed it
    for easier access to the cables down by the usb port)

    the hardest part of this job was re-securing the cables going from the phantom to
    the gimbal in the little holder that is part of the usb port. it's not an easy place
    to work, and after quite a bit of finaggeling we finally got the wires where we felt
    comfortable they were good to go.
    here' s a picture of that are thru the battery opening,
    notice a thumb holding the part with the wires:
     

    Attached Files: