Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Change the name of a drone

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by t2adze, Aug 30, 2016.

  1. t2adze

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    39
    Hey all

    Can i change the name of my p3a? Cant find where to do it, in dji go app

    Sent from my SM-G900FD using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Try here in the app:
    General Settings > DeviceName
    It should appear above 'About' when the aircraft is connected.
     
    JoBe likes this.
  3. t2adze

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    39
    Not there :(

    Sent from my SM-G900FD using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    The ability was added (finally!) in May with iOS app version 2.8.2

    If you are using an android version of the app, I'm not sure which version had the ability added (if it did) so someone using android will need to chime in with that info.
     
    JoBe likes this.
  5. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    I have my Galaxy S5 with the the latest Go app version and it is not available to rename the AC. It works on my Air 2 IOS with no problems.
     
  6. Digdat0

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    377
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    yeah only iOS works to change name, Android doesnt have the feature yet. And, I'm running into cases where i change the name on iOS, but it won't reflect it on Android. And, even though i change on iOS, healthy drones still shows old name. weird.
     
  7. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Yeah! Same here. I believe the app retains old info like flight logs and AC Info.
    When you fly with the android device, it still retains the old name as it is recorded to the AC with the IOS device. So if you upload to HD with the android, you still see the old name. Yes! Really bizarre.
     
  8. t2adze

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    39
    Guys i figured it out!

    You turn on DJi go.
    Then you go to ME tab on the bottom right.
    After click on the current name of your drone.
    And after on the right top corner there will be a button which allows you to edit the name.

    Sent from my SM-G900FD using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Yes, that is how you change the user name but not the device (drone) name.
    Sorry if I misunderstood your question. I assumed from the thread title that you wanted to change your drone (P3) name.

    We've always been able to change the user name, just not the device (P3) name until the iOS GO v2.8.2 update in May.
    Hopefully the android version will add the ability soon. It's already been more than 3 months!
     
    JoBe likes this.
  10. t2adze

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    39
    But after i changed the user name. Device name is also changed. Or am i looking at a wrong place?

    Where do you check device name?

    Sent from my SM-G900FD using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. augusto11

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
  12. Digdat0

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    377
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    You see the device name in the flight log.