Chagring a P3A in the car with inverter calculation

Reaction score
Hi i am going out bush for a few weeks and would like to use my P3A. i am planing on using a 300w sca inverter.(dont think 150 will be enough)

My question is: i have a deep cycle battery (second car battery hooked up) and trying to work out how many charges i get out of it before running my car. I don t have the exact details of the battery because i cant get to it right now but was looking for a rough estimate using standard numbers (will it last only a bit or will i get a fer few charges out of it). I am trying to work it out but i am not really good at this so i hope we mite have a sparky here that mite be able to help me.

Thanx for any help

With a rough calculation on a regular deep cycle I would say 6-8 before battery is dead! I would not run it on actual car battery without car started just in case. And that is on a deep cycle and not just a normal car battery (would be considerably less on regular car battery). And p3a has a 65 watt charger so 150 inverter should be fine while charging one battery at a time!

Ps it may be even less than that due to inverter safety shut off, I know mine cuts off when battery gets close to 12 volts

I'm not an electrical engineer. But here's what you are trying to do:

1. You have a battery (that's probably a marine/RV and not a true deep cycle) that produces about 13.6 volts DC.
2. You hook up an inverter to this so you can plug in your 120 volt AC charger.
3. The charger has a converter that changes this AC voltage back to DC at 17 volts. It's the black box that's inline on the cord.

This inverting from DC to AC to DC is horribly inefficient–that's where the heat is coming from in your inverter and why it probably has a fan and fins. The efficient way of doing this is with a converter (changes your 13.6 volts DC to 17 volts DC) . Amazon sells them for $20 or so.