Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

CF40 CAM UPGRADE?

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by 2014fc40, Feb 16, 2014.

  1. 2014fc40

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a preferred 1080P camera that will do what the stock FC40 camera will do?

    That is respond to the WIFI ap, take stills/video, but higher resolution, better balance, etc....

    An auto gimble isn't required, but higher resolution videos are....
     
  2. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    No.

    If you want a different camera you will get a different app. GoPro has that.
    Although the stock wifi distance isn't all that great.
     
  3. 2014fc40

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    You mean a stock GoPro has less distance than this DJI camera?
     
  4. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is what I am reading, gopro out of the box doesn't carry very far. The 3+ series have half a second delay, and the previous ones 2-3 seccond delay.

    There doesn't seem to be a delay with the fc40 camera.
     
  5. 2014fc40

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have delay with my FC40 cam. I'm using an IPhone 3Gs so that might be the real problem.

    Low framerate. Ceiling fan looks like its barely moving....

    But it shot OK video the first time we took it up.
     
  6. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    3GS may have issues. I'm sure the app wasn't designed with that phone in mind. As soon as I get mine on Wednesday or Thursday, I will fly it with my iPhone 5 and my android tablet and let you know.
     
  7. al404

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. fcat

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    53
  9. al404

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry i was referring to FC40 camera, can't find it size online, to see if canon can feet or if has similar size :)
     
  10. fcat

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    53
    Ahh apologies
     
  11. jaytmoon

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not Positive but the Canon is certainly larger than the fc40. You would need to find/build/modify a custom shell to fit under the phantom. The fc40 is about 2 inches square and less than an inch thick. I do like the canon specs, nice little camera.
     
  12. 2014fc40

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont have it in my hands but its about 2.25x2.25x.75 inch.

    I've never seen a camera off the shelf its size....
     
  13. Dalite

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA. USA
  14. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't think it's worth the price for the same sensor.
     
  15. scole

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0