Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

cellular ipad v non cellular ipad

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by paulsheaves, May 7, 2015.

  1. paulsheaves

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi guys,

    Contemplating swapping my ipad mini 2 for a cellular one so that I can get GPS on it.

    Is there much point? Would be good to get the maps with having to cache?

    Does anyone know whether you can get pay as you go with it? - I will only be using it for the drone only, and thus wondering that the best package is to get.

    Many thanks
     
  2. JayB

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Nottingham UK
    I just went for wifi and thought that if I wanted maps for an area whilst out and about I would just use my phone as a hot spot. Not tried it so not sure how it will work in practice. Some people are saying that when/if they enable a dynamic home point feature you may need cellular as the controller does not have gps built in like the inspire 1.

    There are lots of sim only deals out there but I have no idea how much data you are likely to use per flight. I'm in the UK and am running with Giffgaff for my GPS tracker.
     
    paulsheaves likes this.
  3. paulsheaves

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Problem I have is I have a crappy old iphone that doesn't work as a hotspot... im thinking its just best for me to pop to the mall, swap the ipad to a cellular one and then be done with it.
     
  4. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    I have a mini 2 with wifi only. Got a refurbished from apple for 249. I cache my locations while at home by zooming close to the ground in the map and moving it till all blurriness sharpens. I've done this for my home neighborhood. My moms house and city and my deer lease. So, last night, I turned off wifi and it functioned normally. I could see on the map where I was and images were crisp. So far, flying from my front yard, I get around 1800 feet before video drops and it returns. That's because of obstruction and trees. Won't take long to zoom that radius in the map.

    So, do you need gps? No. But you will when dynamic home is available. But you can assign a different home while in flight, so this really only matters if you are on a boat or some place you don't want your bird to land while in the process of moving quickly.
     
    Coolhand8 likes this.
  5. KK67

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I remeber discussions of iPad with and without GPRS, somewhere I read that an iPad tethered to an iPhone (via wifi) would use the iPhone's position data.
    If so, there would eb no need to upgrade..

    Check macrumors or apple discussions pages.
     
  6. kiwiandy

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Swannanoa, North Canterbury, NZ
    can anyone confirm if the iphone will pass position data to the ipad if using the iphone as a hotspot?
     
  7. Turbazz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    UK. Leicester.
    I think it just caches the map..when connected to the Internet. It may be assisted GPS ?
     
  8. Mikee

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    21
    I have a iPhone 5 so its not supported by the pilot app but the Ipad 3 mini is.. so I use the iphone's internet connection and enabled my hotspot on the phone and then paired the ipad3 to the phone via wifi and yep it works..

    tried it in several locations now and it bring up the map where the phone and ipad are.........Result!!
     
  9. Turbazz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    UK. Leicester.
    Do you keep the Internet connection throughout the flight on?
    Or just load the maps
     
  10. Mikee

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    21
    I just leave connection on all the time and its password protected to my phone so no need to turn it of and soon as Ipad is turned on it has a internet connection.. where ever
     
  11. Turbazz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    UK. Leicester.

    Must eat battery lol. I'll give it a go when it's less windy
     
  12. rofd

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    AVENTURA FL.

    hello, i bought an ipad mini 3 with cellular, and my best solution is to take my sim card from my phone and put it in my ipad (and yes it works) just buy a sim tray remover tool for $1 on ebay
     
    pterrill likes this.
  13. denodan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    Don't need an ipad with gps. Just get a blutooth gps like the dual and garmin have one that also works with ipad

    The beauty of an external gps is its much better quality and more accurate and more stable than any of the internal ones.

    You only need gps for follow me, so got the wifi only ipad and a blutooth gps.

    I get much better gps and as tech changes you can get better gps units rather than being stuck with the inbuilt ones

    You can get blutooth ones which include GLONASS which you don't get with your phone.

    Even my non GLONASS gps I still get slightly more satelittles, and works with follow me with ease.
     
  14. Digger Dave

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I think I got this now, I DON'T need cellular, just a wifi tab and the bluetooth GPS? Ok, so where do I plug that bluetooth thing in on my tab? I bought a Mini 3 with cellular just because of GPS, but it's too small, I just got my lady an Air 2 wifi only, so will that work?
     
  15. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,528
    Likes Received:
    1,477
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Take a look at this high level overview of different options.

    Tablets and phones that work well with DJI GO | Page 21 | DJI Phantom Forum
     
    #15 Oso, Nov 4, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2016
  16. barefootbeachcombing

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    US
    Umm ... it's Blluetooth. It doesn't plug in to the device. It connects via ... wait for it ... Bluetooth. :) Sorry, had to mess with ya.
     
  17. Digger Dave

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well if you're unaware of it, there are bluetooth devices that plug into either a USB or Lightning port (I just found that out) THAT'S why I was asking lol. Hey I'm old, but not too old to ask for help
     
  18. Digger Dave

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  19. Digger Dave

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, no I hadn't seen it. Well I just now sent the Mini 3 wifi/cell back to Amazon and ordered the Air 2 wifi only hahaha I can't win :confused: