Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional CE to FCC Mode

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Stef, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. Stef

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bern / Switzerland
    Hi guys

    Just got my new Phantom 3 today, heard a lot of rumors about flight limits of 500m only and that the FCC mode can not be activated manualy.

    Anybody has some experience already about this?

    Thanks a lot,
    Stef
     
  2. AmosMoses

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Illinois
    It's all done by the Phantom in relation to your location based on the GPS. As far as I understand it can not be set manually.
    The 500m restriction is for altitude only.
    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  3. Stef

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bern / Switzerland
    ok thanks for the Info!
    Will try out as soon the firmware update is done...takes quite long...

    500m.. :( could make nice videos when breaking trough foglayers into sunshine on top, any chance to switch that limit off?
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,598
    Location:
    US
    No.
     
    Stef likes this.
  5. Stef

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bern / Switzerland
    Thanks for the feedback!
    Too bad... well, a reason to stay with the vision 2+, apart from the 4k camera.
    Hopefully an APP will come out soon to switch this off.
     
  6. JoeWebb

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the supposed FCC altitude limit is 500 feet, why is this limited at 500m?
     
  7. TAZ

    TAZ

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    116
    It's the FAA not the FCC that recommends 400' (not 500'). The FAA doesn't govern the rest of the world, just US airspace (other areas of the world may have higher or lower limits), and the measurement is Above Ground Level. It is conceivable you are flying up a mountain, and well above 400' from your takeoff point, but still under the 400' AGL limits.

    Why do they put a hard limit at 500m from takeoff point at all, then? Couldn't say.
     
  8. JoeWebb

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry TAZ, FCC was a brain fart. I was under the impression that Dji placed the 500m altitude limit on units sold in the U.S. Only. I was wondering if their intent was to comply with the FAA suggestions and confused meters and feet. LOL