Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

CAUTION! VPS AFTER FIRMWARE UPDATE

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by Sammynels, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. Sammynels

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    MA
    Gents, I found a problem with the new firmware. It may be widespread or just on my bird (doubt it). My VPS isn't working properly. Once the craft is about 4'feet from the ground it descends to the ground without notice. It won't hold altitude under 10 feet. It just lands and not too slowly either. Just an FYI to keep your hands on your controls and eyes in the sky when your bringing her in. Has nothing to do with battery level etc and I checked and double checked all settings. Ugh. Come on DJI. And yes, no issues with my bird prior. It flew fine 20 mins before the firmware was updated. Thx and I hope this helps a few of you out there avoid meltdown. Let's hope there is a fix lined up for this.
     
  2. Hjones62

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Everybody rushing to update!! If there's nothing wrong with your aircraftt, WHY UPDATE? I'm just saying...
     
  3. PhantomFilters

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    48
    @Sammynels
    Does not sound good. Wonder if other people experience the same issue. I still haven't updated myself.

    Thats the question. However, it might fix something that you don't know is wrong or might go wrong. Or it might include new or improved functionality.

    Personally, I always update to the latest.
     
    bobomet likes this.
  4. Claydoc911

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    27
    Because you get warning messages all over the screen telling you to update! :)
     
    imadago and rrmccabe like this.
  5. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I usually wait a month before updating. Wait for the early adopters to flag issues.

    However with my P2 V plus... I do the following. Indoors, I do IMU calibration and make sure gain settings are DEFAULT (yes - this changes values on different firmwares in the p2). I also the RC sticks calibration. Outdoors, wide open known magnetic free space - redo compass calibration. Try this on the P3 and let us know how you go.
     
    #5 Mako79, Jun 16, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2015
  6. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego
    The Amount of VPS complaints is minimal compared to success stories.
    Turn it off if you think it's happening to your machine and wait and see what DJI does.
    I wounder if there is a factory reset hidden in the Phantom.
    Google time bye...........................
     
  7. NYRangers99

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Westchester County NY
    I had zero problems with VPS…flew perfect…just had lag problems with video feed as I did before…also couldn't get my map up in the app after saving it for offline use
     
  8. vegas-k9

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    58
    I update so that IF something goes wrong. It's just one more alibi for my case. Send your crashed bird back on old firmware and see what dji says..."should have been flying on our new firmware"

    Let them be responsible for a crash...not you.
     
    Chris P Duck likes this.
  9. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
  10. Sammynels

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    MA
    Probably the same thing. Just wanted to help u guys. I know how much I love my setup so I was trying to help u guys avoid a bad day. I was debating upgrading the FW then I figured most issues are caused by not having the latest firmware. Got my second battery today at least, progress....
     
    Oso likes this.
  11. garyrosa123

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    6
    My P3 does the exact same thing since the latest firmware firmware update. Doesn't hold altitude / hover under 10 feet. Turned off vps and does fly better.. awaiting next firmware upgrade or patch.. never had issues until this update...
     
  12. damitjim

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    NC
    P3P or P3A? Different firmware versions.
     
  13. garyrosa123

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    6
  14. Kevin H.

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    10
    I updated my brand new P3A today to v1.2.7 -- both the bird and the remote controller -- and have not experienced this issue. I left my aircraft hovering for several minutes at eye level in P-GPS mode while my wife took lots of pictures. Of course I'm brand new to the Phantom and to droning (?) so take my remarks with a grain of salt.
     
  15. zobiwu

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    21
    P3P 1.2.6 tried indoor VPS here no issue.
    I had an issue with 1.1.9 and VPS on over gravel+asphalt, sunny day a couple of days ago so I leave it off outdoors now. it would bounce up/down and with the wind that day it actually flipped. Over some other surfaces I had more luck, but it's annoying/dangerous/unreliable.
     
  16. Jbundy63

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    164
    I've flown mine about 8 times after the update and have not had any problems with distant flying or close to ground VPS mode. Have you tried re-doing the update to see if it's a glitch?
     
  17. westlightaerial

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    35
    I had the same issue today after my update. **** this sucks. I'm going to try to turn VPS off and see if it does better. Can I go back to the old firmware some way.
     
    AbsPapa likes this.
  18. Claydoc911

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    27

    Redo update? Not possible... as far as I know. Just as its not possible to go back a FW updated as well. :(
     
  19. Jbundy63

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    164
    WOW Really, I didn't know that!
     
  20. Claydoc911

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    27
    yes a real bummer.... with the lag problems, over heating problems and now VPS problems..... I wish it was possible to go backwards... it's a pain... if you don't update? The app bugs you to death... :(

    I don't mind updating if I have trust in them... but the last two updates have caused issues... lost my trust u could say.
     
    AbsPapa and westlightaerial like this.