Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Catastrophic failure :(

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by HIGHFLIER, Apr 30, 2016.

  1. HIGHFLIER

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    32
    Well guys i dont know what is going on with my standard. I had at least 8 sats in view but the phantom kept changing to "safe to fly non gps mode" and then out of no where when i was luckily 15 feet from the ground instead of 100, it flipped right over and hit the ground.

    [​IMG]
    Any ideas what i should do about this crack on the gimble base?
    The one corner without the locking pin on it popped out and the camera was flipped around so i had to pry it back but it seems to be fine now.

    Im thinking one of the motors stopped working for a second and after it hit the ground the controller was unable to stop the motors.

    Heres the flight log HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,921
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
    You just need a new gimbal mounting plate. You can get one from DJI or from Amazon.
     
    Bootstr@p and Squirrel! like this.
  3. afx

    afx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    WS
  4. HIGHFLIER

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    32
    Thanks for the links guys. Has anyone checked out the flight log?
     
    #4 HIGHFLIER, Apr 30, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2016
  5. mdowney58

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Mountain City, TN
    It also appears that you have some separation and even some misalignment circled in red[​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
     
  6. HIGHFLIER

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    32
    Yes I think you are right the ribbon rubs on it a bit. I should have mentioned that. The camera and gimble like misaligned until I calibrated it. Also I just did a flight up to 250 feet and all was well.
     
  7. Mr. Pina Colada

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    10
    You definitely lost gps signal at one point as the phantom switched between gps and atti 4 times. I'm assuming that's where it crashed when it lost gps, however GPS loss shouldn't cause the phantom to crash.
     
  8. FrequentFlyer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Riverside,Ca
    You are correct. Losing GPS Does not cause the phantom to fall out of the sky. The probable causes are : motor failure, prop failure, grit or dirt in motor. Just throwing things out there. But definitely not GPS.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. HIGHFLIER

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    32
    Hey guys so I just did a flight and it kept switching to safe to fly non GPS.... so I don't know what the problem is. I calibrated everything and the remote also has a **** signal. Can I just return this to dji and they send a new one?
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,921
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
    They won't send you a new one, but they will repair it.
     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  11. Mike's Bird

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    11
    You may have more going on under the shell. I'm only speculating on the causes but you had better check all your cable connections. GPS cable is on the top of the board along with the ufl connections for remote control 5.8GHz antennas. I'd do a thorough inspection inside and out. Make sure your connections are solid and get all your needed parts ordered in one shot. Or just get it into a repair center - another crash may be in your immediate future.

    Good luck!
     
  12. HIGHFLIER

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    32
    Thanks for the reply. I will definitely do what you said once I get home.

    I just changed locations and it went well even got out to 1400 feet.

    Now I'm wondering if cell towers would have been interfering
     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  13. HIGHFLIER

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    32
    This is a picture of the cell towers. Usually I had no problem flying by them. But this is where the crash happened and then this morning I was on other side a couple miles away when it kept changing to safe to fly non GPS
     

    Attached Files:

  14. HIGHFLIER

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    32
    This location doesn't work either
     

    Attached Files:

  15. HIGHFLIER

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    32
    #15 HIGHFLIER, May 1, 2016
    Last edited: May 1, 2016
  16. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    259
    Easy to find out...Fly it away from you and hit RTH. If it comes back, it has GPS...if not, start running to get it! ;)
     
    Buzz rabbit likes this.
  17. jbe420

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    15
    I had that happen on my p1.1.1 found a cut in compass wire taped it fixed it


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  18. Mike's Bird

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    11
    Absolutely. Often times those towers are used for other services as well, including microwave rx/tx repeater points. Be careful when you pop the shell apart. Take your time. I had a minor crash (completely my fault) and found the ribbon cable from the camera to the main board was pinched and insulation was cut. It worked fine but I replaced it anyway. Just goes to show you never know what happens under the hood.
     
  19. Mike's Bird

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    11
    Nice photo. There is more than cell coverage going on with those towers. Looks like FM radio or other RF usage. Be that as it may, flying a mile or more away should not be an issue - unless they are between the drone and your controller. I'd stay clear of the RFI and of the guy wires you'll never see until too late. :)
     
  20. novice

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    I had the same issues on 2 different flights, luckily I was only about a foot off of the ground both times. If the had been higher it would have been ugly!!! Went to a totally new location to fly and all was well ??? I'm guessing it was some type of interference ?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app