Can't unscrew = screwed?

Reaction score
Hey guys.

So I got a cheap 2-axis gimbal for my Phantom, and built it yesterday... Went to install it, but while taking the shell off the Phantom, the last screw (always the last one!) wouldn't unlock.

Unfortunately it's one of the deep sunken ones mid-way down the leg, so I have to use the long side of the allen key but it keeps slipping.

I really don't want to fork out £35 for a new shell when technically this one isn't even broken, but I can't seem to move forward here... I tried sticking a dab of superglue (Loctite) to the allen key and letting it set in the screw-head but that didn't work as there isn't enough surface area to hold purchase, and I don't want to smother it in superglue since it will corrode the plastic.

Any suggestions? :(

DomKane said:
Hey guys.

So I got a cheap 2-axis gimbal for my Phantom, and built it yesterday... Went to install it, but while taking the shell off the Phantom, the last screw (always the last one!) wouldn't unlock.

Unfortunately it's one of the deep sunken ones mid-way down the leg, so I have to use the long side of the allen key but it keeps slipping.

I really don't want to fork out £35 for a new shell when technically this one isn't even broken, but I can't seem to move forward here... I tried sticking a dab of superglue (Loctite) to the allen key and letting it set in the screw-head but that didn't work as there isn't enough surface area to hold purchase, and I don't want to smother it in superglue since it will corrode the plastic.

I would recommend but you need to be very careful, use a soldering iron that has a very fine tip and apply some heat to the head of the screw. Try that off and on and it should break free the screw. That's what we use in on-road/off-road RC when Loctite doesn't want to play nice. Just be very careful that you don't leave it on too long and the plastic around it starts melting. Good Luck!