Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can't Format SD Card

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by gofirjet, Jul 2, 2014.

  1. gofirjet

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a SanDisk Ultra 32GB MicroSDHC card and I'm unable to format it using the vision app. It says "Format Failed". And ideas how I can get this card to format for use with this camera?

    Thanks in advance for your assistance.
     
  2. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    The card might have a lock on it,
    Might be a little slide lever on side of SD CARD!
    ( keeps you from accidentally erasing footage )

    Hope this helps!
    Keep us informed!

    Take care, fly safe!
     
  3. DCGOO

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    It also could be defective, even if brand new. I cannot count high enough to register all of the SanDisk brand flash I have thrown away, mostly for computing applications (using it for system disk). Use in a camera is much less demanding, and crummy class flash generally works. But it can fail at any time, even brand new out of the box. JMO
     
  4. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    could be fake...
    ebay?
     
  5. Channel70Productions

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    The micro SD card itself doesn't have a lock slide on it, but most adapters do. Suggest you save yourself frustration and head for the nearest Walmart to buy another card.
     
  6. gofirjet

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I appreciate all the replies. Here’s what I have so far. The card does not have a lock on it, no slide lever. I have no problem formatting it for use on my Mac or GoPro camera so the card is not defective or a fake. The card works in every other device except V2+. Reformatted the card on the Mac (FAT32) and still not recognized nor can I format on the V2+. Any other suggestions? Thanks again for the responses and I’ll reply if I find a cure.
     
  7. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    I would try a different card ( if you have 1 )
    Might possibly be a problem with the card slot
    On the + camera gimbal?

    Another possibility, try to delete, and reinstall app,
    Might be some firmware conflict?
    ( I've had several issues with app updates in the past! )

    Please keep us informed!

    Take care, fly safe!
     
  8. Channel70Productions

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Long shot, but it's worked in similar situations for our pro video camcorders. In 'my computer' right click on the card icon to re-format, but don't choose FAT32, but instead choose NTFS. Good luck.
     
  9. gofirjet

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I fixed my problem but I’m not really sure why this worked. Here what I did: Using my computer, I copied all of the files and folder in the original 4GB card that came with Phantom and pasted them on my new 32GB card. I put the 32GB card in the Phantom and formatted with the phone app. Works great now! No errors, takes pictures and videos. Thanks!
     
  10. HBPilot

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't understand how to use the phone app to format the SD card. Are you talking about the DJI Vision app or something else? I can't find a menu for formatting the SD card on the DJI Vision app. Am I just missing something?
     
  11. pb7424

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Two Rivers, Wisconsin
    It's an option in the Vision app on your phone under the camera settings. Scroll down and it's near the bottom of the camera options list.