Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can't format sd card with GO App

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Tricky, Aug 6, 2015.

  1. Tricky

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Westchester County, New York
    I am getting message "reformatting is suggested" but there is no place to format sd within the app...like most people say to do...any ideas?

    thanks

    P3P...haven't gotten off the ground yet, success updating RC through app, and updating bird and 2 batts through sd card...but now need to format sd...tried twice with my pc...and i still get reformatting suggested
     
  2. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    I don't have the App is front of me but I believe if you go to the camera settings their is something about formatting the card. Someone correct me if I'm wrong
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    Here's where it was in the previous version of the app. They won't have moved it.
    If no luck ... you can always do it in your computer anyway,
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Tricky

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Westchester County, New York
    no longer an option :-( and tried it in my computer....exFat
     
  5. wat17

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Really? Surely that's an oversight. Hope there is a solution.
     
  6. Tricky

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Westchester County, New York
    Resolved. Found option in app, had to drag down for more options...I'd say pilot error but I haven't flown yet
     
  7. blue_goose

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    6
    The card that came with my P3P will format in the computer, but the Pilot App still says it need to be formatted. Bought another sd card and it formats fine in the App.
     
  8. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    It's always best to format the card in the device using it.
    Not to say doing it in the computer is wrong.

    You can download a free program specifically for SD card formatting.
    https://www.sdcard.org/downloads/formatter_4/
    Still best done in camera though.
     
    blade strike likes this.
  9. tundrastruck

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Iqaluit, Nunavut
    Select your camera settings optionin the Go App, tap on MORE and scroll the menu up and bottom right there is FORMAT SD