Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can't find phantom wifi after I took off gimbal w/ camera

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by Phantomrasberryblower211, Apr 10, 2016.

  1. Phantomrasberryblower211

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, my phantom crashed, ( broken battery) and the black ribbon cable was torn, I had to take off the gimbal and unplug it from the phantom, before I had found the phantoms wifi with the camera even when the ribbon had snapped, but now their is none. Does this have to do with the gimbal or is it something else entirely? (Sorry if this sounds dumb) thanks


    Sent from my iPod touch using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,013
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    I am confused. Could your re-word your OP? Thanks
     
  3. jwax

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Albany, NY area
    As I understand it, the camera connections must go through the camera for the WiFi to send any data or video back to controller.
    Please correct me if this is wrong.
    John
     
  4. Phantomrasberryblower211

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    With the camera on, a wifi signal came up on my phone, but when I took it off I can't find a signal? Hope it helps


    Sent from my iPod touch using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. jwax

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Albany, NY area
    Correct. Power to the WiFi transmitter goes through the camera, via the connections. If you disconnect the camera, no power gets to the WiFi, thus, no signal.
     
  6. Bogwan

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Search on here for rewiring to give you wifi and telemetry
     
  7. EMCISME

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you saying that without the cables are connected correctly to the gimbal, the SSID will not appear on your phone or IPAD? I ask because I just ran into this after installing and reinstalling several gimbals. Which of the cables is the one that provides the wifi power. The smaller one on the side or the right or left one as viewing from the front?
     
  8. jwax

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Albany, NY area