Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can't connect Android to vision ... yes I have searched

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by jaysan, Aug 26, 2014.

  1. jaysan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    I watched several you tube videos and searched the threads . I continuously get " phantom connection broken "

    Sometimes whenever I try to bind it says repeater connection failed . Sometimes whenever it connects and says bind successfully I immediately go to camera and it says the same message .

    I have plugged it in to the computer and everything is up to date .

    I am using a galaxy S3 and I have made the adjustment in Wi-Fi settings so it doesn't switch between Wi-Fi systems

    Any ideas ? Is my repeater bad ?
     
  2. ProfessorStein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Could very well be. Could also be the camera. But before you throw either out, a few questions...

    When you say "bind", do you mean just linking the app to the Phantom at start up? Or do you mean you're actually trying to perform the full binding process as shown here:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X7FsdCPrEeU ?

    If you're just talking about connecting the app at start up, you might try doing a full rebind.

    What firmware are you running on the Phantom? And have you updated the firmware on the camera to match?

    Does the camera's green light stay on, or go out?

    And do you get the green status flash on the repeater?
     
  3. jaysan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  4. BWJ

    BWJ

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    Disable mobil data on the phone, then it works :!:
     
  5. jaysan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did it man . Same issue ".phantom connection broken "
     
  6. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    One thing easily missed (I did :oops: ) after it finds the new mac address you must tap the blue check mark to confirm it.
    It does show that in the video, so I guess you did it, but easily overlooked.
     
  7. jaysan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I did that lol . Ugh well my buddy and I plan to swap repeaters so we'll see if that is the issue
     
  8. Marsfalcon

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have the phantom 2 vision, i had the same problem. I upgraded the camera firmware, phantom firmware, updated the app to the newest version. I had the switch on wifi on the camera. Still nothing. Broken connection kept coming up. BUT... i had a new SD card in the slot. I pulled the SD card out and put another new card in the camera, with the power off, repowered the phantom and bam... i had FPV on the app. I don't think anything was wrong with the other card i think the connections werent good in the cameras SD slot. Try that..
     
  9. jaysan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0


    Tried 3 different cards ( 64 gig , 8 gig , 2 gig )

    Didn't work . I am getting annoyed with this thing . Lol
     
  10. RamDez

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    I am having the same issues now.
    Tried with both an iPhone and my Galaxy and both do not connect. The repeater light is flashing on and off .......... clues please.
     
  11. BWJ

    BWJ

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    Try the manual V1.18 - chapter 14.9, that should solve the problem.
     
  12. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    I had this same issue, tried everything you did still no luck. Then I made a flow chart to log all of the settings I tried so I would not repeat or forget any. Well, it seems if I have the camera on wifi at startup I get no connection, BUT, if I turn on the repeater and the bird 1st, wait for the bird's slow green, then turn on the wifi on the camera I connect just fine every time. (takes 25-30 sec) As I have a Rotorpixel and installed it the same time as I upgraded the firmware to 3.04 I don't know if it is the gimbal or the firmware, or both not working well together.
     
  13. RamDez

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    I fixed mine by switching off mobile data on my phone PHEW :)
     
  14. Marsfalcon

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I flew my Phantom 2 vision last night and was using the FPV and i didnt have any card in the SD slot. Sooo, the SD card had nothing to do with my FPV issue. It must have been just a coincidence. When i fixed my connection broken problem i had another P2V next to me to swap out stuff till i made it work. I did replace the extender and re-binded it. So far so good.