Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Cant ascend, descending with full left stick up

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by limesed, Jun 30, 2014.

  1. limesed

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am a new P2 pilot but I cant be this bad... I have a P2 with gopro gimbal and FPV. I updated to the new firmware which bricked it until this morning, but now I go to fly and the darn thing wont stay up. I have recalibrated the compass and everything checks out ok. Is there any reason that with full left stick up it would just start coming down? It seems to just like to smash itself into the ground over and over. Super frustrating and it doesnt even want to hold its hover in gps mode.
    IDEAS PLEASE!!
    Thanks :x
     
  2. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,929
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    You need to make sure you have fully calibrated each stick input on the remote and then the Phantom each time you change the firmware. You need to confirm in the Phantom Assistant the controls have full range and then sit in the middle by default.

    There is also the auto-land function which will happen towards the end of the flight when your battery reaches 10.6V. It will make the Phantom descend slowly and the throttle will be much less responsive requiring full up throttle to ascend only slowly.
     
  3. limesed

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I fully recalibrated everything. I think it wants to do autoland any time i bring it low and back towards me... I know if i descend quickly straight down it will go a little nuts from the turbulent air but if i go in a straight line within 50 feet of the ground it drops and then eventually it will come back up but if the ground is near it, it just smashes into the ground.
     
  4. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    So it flies OK until you bring it back towards you? Does it descend during forward flight, or does it coincide with something else, like bringing it to a stop, changing direction etc.? Are you only using GPS mode? Prop guards? What elevation are you flying at?
     
  5. limesed

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    it takes off ok, but i dont get the shot of lift straight up the way i expected to, it takes some time to get altitude, but I am at about 5300ft field elevation so that may have some to do with it. The major descents happen when i change direction or stop, sometimes when going forward, but it is sporadic. Sometimes it does just fine and others it will loose 50ft or so as if the motors gave out... but i can hear them going just fine. Im flying mostly in GPS mode, but ive tried ATI as well. the big issue is close to the ground when i want it to go up and it is a struggle, definitely feels like i am fighting autoland. I will try more tomorrow and update. Definitely could be some user error on my part.
     
  6. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Suspect you need to apply the default gains while connected to Assistant software.
     
  7. limesed

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so i recalibrated the controller and now it wont get enought power to take off at all... i can tell its not getting full motor on takeoff by the sound. it does get full forward power though from the right stick. Ive done IMU calibration both basic and advanced, and calibrated the control in both the RC and assistant software. Even in my living room I can power it on with full lift and it will just sit on the floor trying... The control recognizes full throttle at 1000 sooo im lost.

    Im attaching pictures of everything... are my gain values out of wach? I have hit the default button and that is waht it gives me...

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  8. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    That all looks good to me, is it full of lead? :roll:
    Sorry don't know what to suggest really.
     
  9. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    In your calibration pics, why is E stick full right? It should be dead center. And since doing firmware update - how far do you live from an airport?
     
  10. limesed

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I pushed it to full to show that it was reading full throttle. I am not within the no fly zone area, i definitely checked that as well.
     
  11. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    Hang on - that's the elevator stick, not the throttle. Presumably you are not trying to take off using elevator.
     
  12. lucid111

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    What remote control are you using? Stock DJI or other? Also, if you have a Go Pro make sure the WiFi is turned OFF as it'll conflict with your flight board.
     
  13. mb_guy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB. Canada
    Shouldn't the controller be in mode 2?? The picture shows Mode 1
    I have a FC40 so just asking, I haven't looked into the answer.
     
  14. MrC

    MrC

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Surrey. UK
    Yep. Change to mode 2.
     
  15. limesed

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    well shoot... changed it to mode 2 and things seem to be preliminary better. we will see more tomorrow.... this may be on a different thread but in GPS mode if i let it hover it tends to float back and to the right... I think i fix this in gain but honestly have no clue yet how exactly to adjust that.

    And thanks for all the help, this forum has been a savior!
     
  16. lucid111

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, Downloaded the latest Phantom 2 software for your PC on DJI.COM. Make sure you have the appropriate channels reversed. Your trimming might also be offset. Do a basic calibration and see if that helps.