Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Cant activate custom channel

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Brutaly, Sep 23, 2015.

  1. Brutaly

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    15
    Hi

    New to the forums (been lurking for weeks) and thought i should pop by and ask a question.

    I installed the channel hack on my iPad after i updated to 1.4 in the bird. The bird was brand new out of the box and havent flown a meter.

    I can see 32 channels and i can see the auto and custom "boxes" in the Go-app but i cant chose custom or chose a channel manually.

    What am i missing?

    I reinstalled the hack and got asked if i wanted to replace the file which i did.

    Cheers
     
  2. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Is your Phantom powered up and connected when you try?
     
  3. Brutaly

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ofc, i can see what channel in on, i can se the interference on bad channels. I can see the dialogue for customchoice but its greyed out so i cant chose it.
     
  4. Brutaly

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    15
  5. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Are you in one of the countries that allows a custom selection?
     
  6. Brutaly

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    15
    I have no idea. Im in Sweden. Is there a list or something where this can be sorted out?
     
  7. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    JoBe likes this.
  8. TX-Xced

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Try this
    1) Disconnect and power down your aircraft and RC
    2) Shut down the DJI GoAPP
    3) In your iPad's settings change the location setting to US.
    4) Reboot iPad (shutdown and restart)
    5) Connect iPad to RC
    6) Power up RC
    7) Power up aircraft (remember to remove props for safety)

    You should be able to see/select the channel now.

    The aircraft knows were its at in the world and sets up certain configs based on its location - but unless changed in the new firmware changing you "smart" devices location should allow you to change the channel etc....
     
  9. Brutaly

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    15
    Wicked! Worked like a charm. Thx.
     
  10. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Glad it worked for you. Cheers!
     
    JoBe likes this.
  11. Mr.Spock

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    Channels 15 to 32 what are they used for in civil applications ? Anyone
     
  12. TX-Xced

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    A channel number is an arbitrary number that has assigned to a frequency for logical naming. In the case of 802.11XX in the US since a standard was set on the frequency allocation for the ISM band - a logical number representing the actual frequency was applied. EX. CH1 = 2.412GHz, CH6 = 2.437GHz, CH11=2.462GHx Etc...... Note 22MHz spacing. So since its adaption manufactures of 802.11xx equipment have keep the same logical channel numbers to make it simple on end users.

    So as long as the product DJI submitted to the FCC for review operates in the frequency range that they applied for - this case the ISM band they can call the channels any number they want because its the actual frequency thats regulated not an arbitrary channel number.

    So back to your question - we would need to know what frequency DJI assigned to those channel numbers - To identify what part of the 2 GHz band they are operating in.

    In the States
    ISM bands for unlicensed communication equipment 2.400 to 2.4835GHz

    Licensed communication equipment
    Amateur radio operators have privilege on 2.300-2.310GHz and 2.390-2.450GHz

    If I taking a wild guess I would say the transceiver would/is capable of transmitting out of of the unlicensed ISM band. A spectrum analyzer capable of coving the frequencies in and out of band would reveal the answer real quick.
     
    Mr.Spock likes this.
  13. Mr.Spock

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    Thank u TX if u find out the frequencies pls do let me know. I want to find the ones with the less interference. Not the interference that the app tool is showing but statisticaly what are the less busy feq channels. Now i am using 32 my gues is that is nearer the 3Ghz band that it is withing 802.11n or ac limits.
     
  14. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    JoBe and Mr.Spock like this.