Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Cannot get beyond 1640 feet

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Hebrews12v2, Oct 7, 2015.

  1. Hebrews12v2

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just purchased the Phantom 3 Pro last week and am about 25 flights in. I ran into a "wall" at 1640 feet that I cannot seem to get past. I use an Android 10" Note 2014 tablet, so I got the Litchi App to have expanded capabilities. During the last two days I have been out and since I am getting more comfortable, wanted to push my limits of flight out further, but I am hitting a wall!

    I cannot get past this 1640 foot / 500 Meter barrier. Can someone tell me how they are getting beyond this "wall"?
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,750
    Likes Received:
    3,462
    The obvious first place to look is in your app settings.
    See what's set in the distance limit setting
    [​IMG]
     
    Jbundy63 and Hebrews12v2 like this.
  3. Hebrews12v2

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does the DJI Go app apply when I am using Litchi Now? I do have the Go app on my tablet still, but have been using Litchi the last two days.... regardless I'll check that setting in go. Appreciate the quick response!

    (edit)
    Just confirmed in the Go App that I already had that disabled.....
     
    #3 Hebrews12v2, Oct 7, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2015
  4. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    So at this 500m point you still have good signal but it just won't go further?
    Has to be one of the restrictions set in the app surely, unless you are near one of the no-fly areas.
    Have you tried flying it using Go app with any restriction on distance turned off?
    I suspect the setting will be remembered by the Phantom until it 'checks in' again fully.
     
  5. Hebrews12v2

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have not tried it beyond 1640 in the Go app, just in the Litchi app. I set the Litchi for 5000 foot then increased it to 10,000 then 20,000 then 30,000 with no ability to go past 1640 foot / 500 Meters.
     
  6. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    What happens when you get to 1640'? Try a good line of sight.. 1600' could be right depending on where your flying.
     
  7. Hebrews12v2

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had a great LOS as I was flying up and down the Columbia River...Wide and long lines of site. Turns out that it was me making a newbie mistake (I am hoping). VCTECH answered me in the Litchi forums and got me thinking.... below was my response to his questions:

    Your answer got me thinking VCTech! I just looked a second time in the DJI Go app, but this time I also turned on my aircraft. Being a new pilot I didn't realize the RC and the aircraft BOTH have to be on to change distance settings. I found that I indeed had it set in DJI Go at 500 Meters. I won't be able to check this until later as it is still dark here, but I believe that this will be the solution...

    I simply am too new to realize where to look and what conditions need to be met to change settings. This case is not having both the RC and Aircraft on to correct settings!


    Thanks everyone who responded!
     
    brianb87 likes this.
  8. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    405
    This kinda makes me chuckle because I made a similar error and realized it on my maiden flight today. I set max height to 40 meters when I really wanted that to be RTH height, which I thought I was setting. I had a laugh when I got to 120' up and heard 'maximum altitude has been reached' lol!
     
  9. Hebrews12v2

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    ;)
    I'll know for sure tomorrow when I get a chance to try it, but I am sure that is what was the issue. Just glad it wasn't an "imposed" limit by DJI as I had first suspected......
     
  10. Signals

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Illinois
    Yes, the aircraft has to be on because that information gets stored in the bird not in the Go App. So if you change devices, like iOS to Android the limits you set in one will still be there in the other or in all other apps that access the bird like Litchi.
     
    Hebrews12v2 likes this.
  11. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Hopefully it'll fix your issue! Good luck!
     
    Hebrews12v2 likes this.
  12. Hebrews12v2

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just an update. Once I had aircraft on and opened DJI GO, I was able to see the distant was actually set, so I turned that setting OFF and later was able to fly as far as I wanted. (I went out to 5394 feet). I now will be testing how far I can go while keeping a solid signal. This was the flight I did: