Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Cannot enter camera view

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Carl R, Dec 22, 2015.

  1. Carl R

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have had my phantom 3 professional for roughly 6 months and relatively no problems. Got the bird out this weekend to fly and cannot connect to the DJI go app on an iPad 3 mini. Tried 2 other iPhones, 6+ and iPhone 6, and iPhone 5S and still no luck. Have tried updating firmware on the quad copter and looks like successful. It appears the remote will not update when I plug in USB flash card reader, lights do not change colors. The remote is connecting to the aircraft and will fly, just can't enter camera view on the app. Any help is much appreciated? Thank you. Carl.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    Try reinstalling DJI GO.
     
  3. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,526
    Likes Received:
    1,477
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Certainly do as @msinger noted above.
    With regards to your comment about updating the RC with a USB flash card reader - that is now done via the app and no longer done with a USB card reader inserted in the RC. You will see this once you have updated the app as noted.
     
  4. Carl R

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's the problem, I never get a chance to enter camera view in order to update firmware via the app. I have deleted the app and re-downloaded, screen just says "how to connect" and never gives me an enter camera view. I have even erased and reset the iPad mini 3 and re-downloaded the app. It's almost like the remote doesn't recognize anything being plugged into the USB port. anyone know of a way to reset the remote control where I can reinstall firmware from the beginning?
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    Try a different USB cable.
     
  6. Carl R

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    tried 3 different cables, no luck. The app never says anything other than "how to connect", and never gives me a chance to enter camera view.
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    Did you install 1.3.2 on your remote controller? If not, you'll need to do that before attempting to upgrade to the latest firmware release. If needed, you can find detailed firmware installation instructions here.
     
  8. RCPILOT

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Make sure you're logged in to your DJI account in the GO app. You can't connect if you're not logged in. It's the account you created when the Phantom was new and you had to register it.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. Carl R

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I previously updated remote controller firmware couple months ago, no problem. Have used it with the app since then, but have tried to upgrade firmware again in the last couple of days. Can't get the remote to connect to the go app. I have logged in, still no luck. Still just says how to connect, never lets me enter camera view.
     
  10. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    405
    Just a little thing to try, choose the Inspire as the bird. Then reselect your phantom. I think I did this once and it helped.
     
  11. Carl R

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    anybody else got solutions, I've tried everything and can't get GO app to connect to remote. Not sure how one would ever update firmware without the app connecting.
     
  12. RCPILOT

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Maybe the USB port crapped out. Maybe try removing the module to see if all the ribbon cables are still connected. If that doesn't work you may need to send the radio to DJI. Have you tried contacting DJI support?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. RCPILOT

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Just thought if something else. When I plug my iPhone 6s Plus into the radio it makes that connection noise. Does your iPad do that? If it doesn't then there is something definitely wrong with the USB port.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    #13 RCPILOT, Dec 22, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2015
  14. attygwt

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Same problem for me. Flew of 12/15 and everything was fine. Tried to fly on 12/19 and no camera connection. There was a DJI Go App update about then as I noticed the App changed for selecting the type of aircraft (from separate views to one page with separate selections for the Pro, Advanced, etc. I contacted customer support which advised to delete then reinstall Go App as the solution, but that didn't work. Seems to me its a Firm Ware problem with the updated Go App given that's the only change. Won't be flying until this gets resolved. I hope the tech engineers at DJI follow this thread so the problem is recognized and can be fixed.

    Seasons Greetings.
    Gary
     
  15. Carl R

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have tried probably 50 different solutions on various websites including DJI. I can fly line of sight just fine, no problem with transmitter or the bird except will not connect to any type of viewer. Have tried iPad, iPad mini, Lenovo tablet, iPhone 6, iPhone 6+, and no luck. I think it has to do with the app and a firmware update. But without the app, can't update the firmware and can't connect to the app to update the firmware. Trying to go with USB direct to remote and daisychained to the aircraft will not work for reinstall of firmware either. No reply from DJI support For couple of days..
     
  16. RCPILOT

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Carl, I just updated the DJI GO app on one of my iPads and when I tried to connect it to my P3P I had the same problem. My iPhone 6+ connects okay but not my iPad. The way I fixed it was:
    1) sync your flights with DJI
    2) delete the app
    3) do a "hard reset" of your iPhone or iPad. (Hold the home button and the power button down until the apple logo appears)
    4) download the app again
    5) login with your DJI credentials
    6) try connecting again.

    These steps worked for me and now both my devices work with all the latest updates. If you tried all this already and it didn't work, sorry I'm out of ideas. DJI will be your only hope at this point.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  17. Carl R

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Appreciate the info, on your #1... How do I "sync your flights with DJI"? I always login on the app, but never get any flight data since the problem started. Shows my profile name but the rest of the info is empty. Just thought about it, it did show flight data the 1st time I brought up the app and logged in and shortly after that is when the problem happened. Shows No flight data since then.

    Again, thanks for the try!
     
  18. AAPhoto

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    29
    This just happened on my Android phone. The issue was that I told it to always open the dji app when I plugged in the usb cable. Once I set that action as default, it stopped working. What I did to resolve it was I went into my list of applications, found the dji app, and clicked on "clear defaults". After that, it worked fine again.

    I don't know if that all works the same on Apple devices, but it would explain why a hard reset would fix it as it would essentially do the same thing.
     
  19. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    1,104
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    To sync the flight data, click the little cloud icon in the upper right corner of the flight record screen that's shows no flights, as you stated.
     
    RCPILOT likes this.
  20. kingovo

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to go in to your setting and open the developer menu (YouTube it) make sure debugg is on. When you plug in the phone to the charger you will see a option pop up on the phone for the usb charging click that and change it to send images...this had me confused for days and dji was no help..merry Christmas.