Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Cannot connect to pt2 for upgrade and check

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by baiaz, Aug 1, 2014.

  1. baiaz

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last month I connected to my pc and checked if everything was ok.

    Now I want to upgrade and was trying first to connect to my iMac for an upgrade. And the phantom does not get recognice by my iMac.

    Then I connected to my pc with the same result.

    I was wondering if I was using the wrong USB cable. I have tried different USB cable with the same result. But I am not sure if I connected with the cable that came with the Phantom. It might be at work with my laptop.

    So - must I use a spesific usb cable? or can i use every Micro usb cable?
     
  2. Onezerosix141

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    it should work with similar cable. i've used cable that came with kindle paperwhite.
     
  3. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    I did notice a cable from something else I had handy didn't (easily) push in far enough - the opening is a little tight.
    Not impossible that a cable intended only for charging something is not fully connecting up for data.
     
  4. baiaz

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    The thing is that the video card inside the phantom - I can connect... but the phantom is not connected... not to the pc and not to the iMac...

    Very strange!
     
  5. Onezerosix141

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    I wonder if your USB port's connector is loose?
     
  6. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Try reinstalling the USB drivers on your PC for the drone.

    Delete the old ones first in device manager before reinstalling.
     
  7. harbourside

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you using the latest version of the PT2 assistant ? (3.2), also you have to have the Phantom powered up to get a connection.
     
  8. baiaz

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yepp... downloaded the latest version.... power the Phantom up... can see my photos... on the buildt in camera... on my iMac and PC... but no connection to the phantom....
     
  9. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    655
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    I had the same issue. I normally use a cable that fits into a GoPro and has an adaptor for fitting to the Phantom, range extender etc, but it wouldn't recognise the Phantom. I switched cables to the one that came supplied from DJI and it worked fine.
     
  10. harbourside

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    You do not connect to the Phantom via the mini usb port on the gimbal, there Is a connection on the Phantom body under a little rubber flap.
     
  11. baiaz

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh my god! How stupid I am... sorry for wasting your time... but Thanks for pointing it out to me!!!!!

    Your the best!1!!!!