Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Cannot connect s

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by bishee, Nov 24, 2014.

  1. bishee

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having trouble connecting my P2V+ to the desktop software. One end of the cable is connected to the controller, the controller shows a green power light (with four green batter status lights on) and the other end of the cable is connected to the computer and the 3.6 software is running. The software window shows a blue and a red button on the lower right edge but no connection.

    Clicking the PHANTOM button on the top right if the window gets me the message "Please connect the controller!"

    What could I be doing wrong??
     
  2. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    655
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Are you using phantom software or remote software? The one for the controller has RC in the desktop icon - the one for the phantom has PT2 in its one.
     
  3. bishee

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using PT2 but it asks me to connect the controller and not the Phantom
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,835
    Likes Received:
    5,547
    Location:
    US
    The "3.6 software" is the Phantom 2 Vision Assistant. In order to use that program, you must do the following:

    1) Turn on your remote.
    2) Turn on your Phantom.
    3) Connect the USB cable from your computer to the opposite side of the battery on your Phantom (under the little white flap).
    4) Start the Phantom 2 Vision Assistant software.

    The USB cable should only be connected to your remote when using the RC System Assistance software.
     
  5. bishee

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. How illogical to have to connect the 'copter AND controller when the software asks only for the controller. I suppose that's the penalty of Far East's technical writers?

    Many thanks. All connected and working.
     
  6. brorex

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a little confusing but you are plugging in the naza flight controller when you plug your phantom in.