Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can you update the gimbal without updating phantom?

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by cventu6, Aug 6, 2014.

  1. cventu6

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was flying around the lake today and after watching the videos i noticed the gimbal would twitch and then center itself again. Would do this every once in awhile and I dont want it to mess up any shots in the future. Im assuming the gimbal firmware should probably be updated since ive never done that before. Any ideas how to do that without updating the firmware on the phantom?
     
  2. badbrad97

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are you using the anti-interference board in the line to the Gimbal? Was this a one time thing? I have only had mine do this a couple times flying fast into a head wind hard enough to slow the gimbal movement.

    Yes, you can update just the gimbal.
     
  3. cventu6

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is the fist time this has happened but i filmed throughout the day and it did it every time we took it out. And yeah I have the anti-interference board. It would twitch even when standing in one spot so I dont think it was a wind issue. Do you think updating the gimbal might fix this or does it sound like some kind of other issue?

    Does updating just the gimbal have to be done on a PC? When i hook the phantom up to my mac it wont let me update anything. Also I heard when you plug the phantom into the PC it automatically updates the phantom, anyone happen to know if this is true?
     
  4. badbrad97

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    1
    It does not update automatically. I have been a version behind for months and was still able to connect and do an advanced IMU calibration and see that there was an update available. I chose not to update.

    I just updated everything last night. Seems fantastic now.
     
  5. cventu6

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im still on the original firmware it came with. Did you notice any difference in performance with the upgraded firmware?
     
  6. badbrad97

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    1
    I really only noticed that it flies VERY straight now and that it seems like it doesn't move as fast. I finally turned on NAZA mode so now I can use Course Lock, Home Lock and ATT mode.

    I have noticed that although GPS mode seems slower than before, I can switch to ATT mode and really move out.