Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can you set top speed?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by blacty, Oct 7, 2015.

  1. blacty

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anyone know if it is possible to set the top speed of the drone? When taking videos of stream and river banks I always seem to fly to fast, very little input puts me over 15 mph, would be nice to set it at 10mph so it would not fly faster than that. Is this possible? P3P
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,998
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    US
    That's not possible with the DJI GO app.
     
  3. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Mike - how about adjusting the expo settings or raising the level of the sticks. Do you think they would help with the OPs comment that very little input results in fast movements? I don't have any personal experience with the expo settings, but from what I understand they can help make a less responsive stick requiring more stick movement. I get that it's not a top speed limit, but could help with taking longer to get to top speed.
     
    #3 Oso, Oct 7, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2015
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,998
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    US
    Yes, there are some things you can do to fly with smoother movements (for example). But, that's not going to help limit the speed. And, when it's windy, it's even harder to fly at a certain speed. It's something that could be easily done by software though.
     
  5. Dadcat

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Portland Area, Oregon
    Try increasing the "Forward/Right Expo". That should make the first 1/2 of the stick travel less sensitive so that it's easier to maintain a more consistent low speed.

    The 2nd 1/2 of stick travel becomes more sensitive so top speed is still available.

    You adjust this on the X-Y graph on the Gain & Expo Tuning screen.
     
    brianb87 and N017RW like this.
  6. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL

    FYI: MR speed is limited by the maximum tilt angle. This is typically maxed to a conservative value as at some point the MC cannot maintain altitude if the angle is too great. You need some 'head-room' in the power department to compensate for ambient conditions as well.
     
  7. nickyb

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Northern Hemisphere
    Only the DJI A2 autopilot has a function called 'cruise control' but that's set to keep the bird at a constant speed, not a top speed I believe.

    Maybe in a future update.
     
    brianb87 likes this.
  8. blacty

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    good tips guys, I will give it a try and see what happens!

    thanks