Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can you program 1 TX to work with 2 phantoms

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by brad90631, Aug 9, 2013.

  1. brad90631

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    i have 2 phantoms, one is the old style that has no return spring in the throttle. my second one has a return spring and keeps the throttle at mid point.

    has any one programed 1 TX to work with 2 different phantoms?
     
  2. martcerv

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    2
    I dont think that's possible with the stock radio as it can only be bound to one phantom I think. But very simple with any other descent radio that allows you to save multiple models.
     
  3. bumper

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sure you can do it.

    It's on page A3 of the advanced instructions on the DJI Phantom website. There's also a picture there, but this is the copy:

    A3 Linking the Transmitter and Receiver
    The linking of the transmitter to the receiver of the PHANTOM was carried out before they left the factory. If
    necessary you can link the transmitter to the receiver as follows, for example you replace the transmitter. The
    default receiver type is PPM.
    DO NOT use the PHANTOM transmitter (receiver) with the third party remote control equipment.
    1. Please remove the housing by referring to the section of A8 Maintenance -> Remove the
    Housing.
    2. Locate the receiver module according to the following figure.
    3. After powering on the aircraft and the transmitter, if the LED indicator of the receiver on the control
    board is lit solid red, this means the receiver currently has no connection with any transmitter.
    4. Press down the link button for more than two seconds until the LED indicator blinks, then release the
    button.
    5. Push the throttle stick to the lowest position and turn on the transmitter. Then if the LED indicator of
    the receiver turns off, the link between the transmitter and the receiver has succeeded. (Linking
    operation can be done only when the LED indicator of the transmitter changes to blinking red .)
    Note: 
     If the transmitter can’t enter the linking mode, please check that the throttle stick lies in the lowest
    position.
     You can use your R/C system normally only after the linking is done successfully.
    Receiver Module
    Link Button
    Indicator LED
     
  4. martcerv

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thats the info to bind the phantom rx to tx, I dont know how it works but I assume this is using some sort of unique id or signature to bind the 2. If you bind to another tx or phantom then the original link will likely be disabled so id be surprised if you can have more then one active link with a stock radio.

    I dont have 2 phantoms so I cant try it out but you may be best off and safest doing it the proper way with a radio that supports multiple models.
     
  5. brad90631

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yea. My next expense is going to be FPV. Then maybe update tx.