Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can you make up an CAN-Bus "Y" lead....??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SimonH78, Jul 4, 2014.

  1. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
    I have a FC-40 with the "DJI Groundstation" and a "Zenmuse G3-3D" but can only attach one CAN-Bus at one time.....see pic of my mounting..... is it possible to use a Y lead should be easy to solder one together from spare Bus leads?? Don't really want to buy the CAN-Bus ...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
  3. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    Re: Can you make up an CAN-Bus

    Yes you can directly parallel (y) a canBus cable to attach multiple devices. Make sure you get the leads correct though, you can fry your peripherals if the +6v power is miswired.

    Also, I don't know about the GCU, but the datalink air end gets quite warm. Make sure your stacking of peripherals has enough airflow to keep them cool, and your mounting method doesn't come loose with high temps.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Bus lead Forum Date
" Flights Today 2 Lots of Abuse (UK) General Discussion Monday at 10:47 AM
Busted P4 for sale Classifieds May 10, 2017
Droning as a media business idea Canada May 10, 2017
Video I created for family Business Standard/4k Discussion May 8, 2017
Want to fly my family business's roof as a trial run Phantom 4 Pro Discussion May 5, 2017