Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can you loop a P3?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by sticky photography, Dec 17, 2015.

  1. sticky photography

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    NW UK
    Please comment on this: I'm new to multirotor but this seems incredibly hard? I'm expected to do it as part of a flight test by the British Model Flying Association, 15-25 mtr!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    You won't be able to, the P2 including Visions could do it but you had to be in to full manual - Phantom 3 does not have this option.
    If you are *required* to do stunts rather than fly in a safe controlled manner you'll have to use a different quad.
     
  3. Erroll

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    South Africa
    This one can almost do it by itself......


    :cool:


    wl-toys.jpg
     
  4. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    326
    if you absolutely have to do that with a multirotor and want something RTF for the lowest price possible I would say you should go with the XK Stunt 350. It is around $220 depending where you buy and can definitely do the maneuver you are required to demonstrate.
     
    Darmie likes this.
  5. Darmie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Houston TX.
    That think looks fun..

    XK STUNT X350 4CH 6-Axis 3D 6G Mode RC Quadcopter Air Dancer Aircraft
     
  6. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    326
    bluer101 likes this.
  7. olof Ekbergh

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Mt Washington Valley
    This is the ultimate 3D MR:

     
    Flyer91 and Oso like this.
  8. jamesb72

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    This is part of the B certificate, which no-one is expected to take. Some clubs may ask you to take the A certificate before you fly unsupervised, but that is very simple hovering manoeuvres.

    More of a problem will be that you cannot take the BMFA flying tests with any stabilisation so you need to be in manual mode which Phantom 3 doesn't have - you'd need a Phantom 1 for that, or another quad ;)

    http://www.bmfa.org/Downloads/RCAch...efault.aspx?Command=Core_Download&EntryId=794

    151217BMFA-B-cert-stabilisationDetails.jpg
     
    Meta4 likes this.
  9. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    P2s allow manual mode as well.
     
    jamesb72 likes this.
  10. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,114
    Likes Received:
    1,648
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Omg. P3 is basically designed for a good photography and now we want to use it as a fun toy for loops. :)

    Sky is the limit for imaginations.
     
    Dirty Bird likes this.
  11. sticky photography

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    NW UK
    I have the P3P, I am looking to do the BMFA tests as its a way in for me to gain my CAA stuff rather than pay over £1200 for the alternative courses. It seems the A test alone may have to suffice the the P3P.
    Thanks for the input people
     
  12. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    The P3 is not the right bird for acrobatics. It's a flying pig.
     
  13. Flyer91

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    In the Sierras, 17 miles outside Yosemite N. P.
    I see nothing wrong with multis flying 3D like other RC aircraft (both fixed and rotary wing).
    However you need the right AC for the job and the Phantom is not the right tool for the job .... by any means.
    olof Ekbergh posted the YouTube of Curtis Youngblood's (of RC heli 3D fame) Stingray ... that has collective pitch for full inverted flight .... and it's a fully 3D capable multi.
     
  14. pe9999

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    houston texas
    you can do that easily with a 250 racer (eg walkera 250 or eachine 250) in acro mode.
     
  15. aburkefl

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    30
    Remove one of the props and stand back. LOL Guess too many people don't have time to read manuals or seek out YouTube videos!
     
  16. sticky photography

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    NW UK
    Cynicism, sarcasm and wit.... and some interesting replies, thank you ;-)
     
    #16 sticky photography, Dec 20, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2015
  17. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,214
    Likes Received:
    910
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I actually named my P3 when they 1st came out the "flyNcat". You can find youtube video's that show people holding the P3 upside down and it would go rightside up before hitting the ground just like a cat.
     
  18. rene van der meer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    70
    You should also consider the weigth of the AC and the strength of the props.
    It is possible to fly a P3 without GPS, but stunts might cause the P3A to hit something and it will probably crash very hard. So for stunts I would also use a toy AC. These are very cheap a great to practise flying (indoor).
     
  19. fordruid

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    What if? Before the test explain that your equipment will not do the "un-needed type maneuvers" by design. Ask them why you should act in an unprofessional manner. Is a Cesena pilot required to loop or do an Immelman maneuver
     
    #19 fordruid, Dec 27, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2015
  20. JustinJ

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Hi sticky!

    Obviously, many posters are completely missing the point of your question!

    How are you getting on with your research about this situation?

    (Personally, I think you will only need to do the A cert if you go that route - but I have not yet looked into it fully)

    I am still going the EUROUSC route myself as I don't have an issue with the fees.

    (Don't forget that regardless of weather your "business" is profitable or not, your P3 + training + accessories / expenses etc are ALL tax deductible @ 20%!... so everything just got 20% than doing it "recreationally"!)
     
    sticky photography likes this.